Search Results: "We Are Faces"


BOOK REVIEW

THE WOLF AND THE LITTLE GOATS by The Brothers Grimm
CHILDREN'S
Released: July 14, 2011

"Third-rate art, storytelling and software design put this at the very bottom of the slag heap. (iPad storybook app. 6-8)"
Low production values, generic interactive effects and a chopped-up, poorly paraphrased text sink this version of the cautionary Brothers Grimm tale. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

TILL WE HAVE FACES by C.S. Lewis
Released: Jan. 9, 1956

"Interesting- fascinating in its recreation of Glome — and with an appeal for those curious about the spiritual interpretations and religious allegories found in his earlier books."
The story of Cupid and Psyche, reset in the frame of the primitive kingdom of Glome, sacrifices the King's youngest daughter Istra to Ungit (Aphrodite) and brings Orual, his oldest, ugly daughter, to consider the unknown ways of love. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WE ARE BROTHERS, WE ARE FRIENDS by Alexandra Penfold
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 28, 2017

"Equal parts reassurance and road map, done with skill and charm. (Picture book. 3-6)"
"We will have adventures, just the two of us." Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

We Are Strong, But We Are Fragile by Bob Mustin
SCIENCE FICTION & FANTASY
Released: Dec. 1, 2014

"A tense post-apocalyptic drama that reads as if the kids in Lord of the Flies were savvy enough to grow up and form political parties."
In a barbarous future following economic apocalypse, what's left of the city of Asheville, North Carolina, faces a military and ideological threat from a hostile, degenerate tribe led by a vengeful ex-citizen. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: Aug. 22, 2017

"A hortatory call to arms for young people and a harsh critique of their ruling elders."
A young Canadian journalist argues that a unique generational values shift is occurring that may upend just about everything to save the planet. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WE ARE SYRIANS by Adam Braver
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: July 11, 2017

"Compelling narratives that reveal a grave disillusionment with the world's responses to the Syrian crisis."
Three Syrians who have faced down their country's police state tell their respective first-person stories. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ARE WE THERE YET? by Dan Santat
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 12, 2016

"A multilayered, modern-day parable reminding readers there's no greater gift than the present. (Picture book. 5-8)"
A car trip to visit Grandma on her birthday feels like "an eternity." What happens when you just get too bored? Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

UNTIL WE ARE FREE by Shirin Ebadi
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: March 8, 2016

"The captivating and candid story of a woman who took on the Iranian government and survived, despite every attempt to make her fail."
A leading activist speaks out about inequality and injustices in Iran. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WE ARE THE ANTS by Shaun David Hutchinson
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Jan. 19, 2016

"Bitterly funny, with a ray of hope amid bleakness. (Fiction. 14-18)"
Extraterrestrials offer depressed, acerbic Henry Denton the chance to save the Earth from certain destruction by pressing a red button. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HOW WE ARE by Vincent Deary
NON-FICTION
Released: Jan. 1, 2015

"A psychologist puts humanity on the client's couch, but a cure seems unlikely."
Thoughts on the human condition from a cognitive psychologist-turned-armchair philosopher. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

YES! WE ARE LATINOS! by Alma Flor Ada
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 1, 2013

"Still, with only minor flaws, it is a collection both interesting and educational, offering Latino children positive representations of themselves and teaching non-Latino children about the richness and breadth of the Latino experience.(acknowledgements, bibliography, additional resources, index) (Poetry. 10 & up)"
A poetic celebration of the diversity found among Latinos. Read full book review >