Search Results: "Wednesday Kirwan"


BOOK REVIEW

NOBODY NOTICES MINERVA by Wednesday Kirwan
ANIMALS
Released: Sept. 1, 2007

"This smart tale relies upon humor rather than laborious preaching to get a timely message across. (Picture book. 3-6)"
A cantankerous terrier struggles to find her place in her family dynamic in this wryly funny tale. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BABY LOVES TO PARTY! by Wednesday Kirwan
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 5, 2015

"Great for a birthday read and enjoyable all year long. (Board book. 1-2)"
A little one grabs a pair of shutter shades and gets a major groove on. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MINERVA THE MONSTER by Wednesday Kirwan
ANIMALS
Released: Sept. 1, 2008

"Little ones will understand the many moods of Minerva and will cheer her return to her warm family. (Picture book. 2-5)"
Minerva the lovable Boston terrier returns in this comforting story about the glories and limits of imagination. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BABY LOVES TO BOOGIE! by Wednesday Kirwan
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 24, 2014

"Fans of Baby Loves to Rock will get a kick out of this infant's moves, but the humor is still too adult to pretend this is a book for actual babies. (Board book. 1-3)"
A baby and a bevy of animals demonstrate a variety of dance moves. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BABY LOVES TO ROCK! by Wednesday Kirwan
CHILDREN'S
Released: Jan. 29, 2013

"Kirwan's style is energetic and enjoyable, and here's hoping she can find more developmentally appropriate material. (Board book. 1-3)"
Various animals and one baby show off their musical talents. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WEDNESDAY by Anne Bertier
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2014

"Bertier presents a marvelous springboard for using formal elements to create individual or collaborative narratives. (Picture book. 3-6)"
In the tradition of Leo Lionni's Little Blue and Little Yellow (1959), this French import uses geometric shapes, color and size to explore compatibility and conflict. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

YETI, TURN OUT THE LIGHT! by Greg  Long
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 27, 2013

"A well-told tale of nighttime collywobbles, suitable for framing. (Picture book. 3-5)"
When a yeti gets a case of the heebie-jeebies, then something clearly is amiss. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ASH WEDNESDAY by Ethan Hawke
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: July 23, 2002

"Gritty, funny in spots, and largely credible."
Actor-director Hawke abandons the New York hipsters of his debut (The Hottest State, 1996) for a misfit and his girlfriend who try hard to get a grip on adulthood. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ASH WEDNESDAY by Ralph McInerny
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: July 24, 2008

"Father Dowling's 27th gently probes questions of guilt, intention and absolution while having a bit of fun with small-town nattering."
The moral ambiguity of murder. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

QUEEN ON WEDNESDAY by Gabi Swiatowska
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 20, 2014

"Imaginative illustrations fuel this playful exploration of juvenile boredom. (Picture book. 3-8)"
A very bored little girl takes refuge in her imagination, where she becomes a queen who's soon overwhelmed with royal responsibilities. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE WEDNESDAY BAZAAR by Neha Singh
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 11, 2014

"A few moments of distress capped by a happy ending and an iced lolly—all stories should end so well. (Picture book. 5-7)"
A communal effort reunites a lost child with her mother in this invitingly told and illustrated import. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ONE MORE WEDNESDAY by Malika Doray
ANIMALS
Released: April 1, 2001

"A good, unusually frank discussion starter about loss for the very young. (Picture book. 3-5)"
Wednesday is the day the young narrator of this story visits his beloved Granny, who is sometimes grumpy, but more often, loving and fun. Read full book review >