Search Results: "Wells Tower"


BOOK REVIEW

EVERYTHING RAVAGED, EVERYTHING BURNED by Wells Tower
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: March 1, 2009

"The title barely hints at the scorched-earth, take-no-prisoners power of the stories."
A debut story collection from Pushcart Prize winner Tower. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Oct. 2, 2012

"A historian's history that deserves pride of place in every library."
Historian and journalist Jones (Countdown to Valkyrie: The July Plot to Kill Hitler, 2008, etc.) enlightens and delights in this history of the London Tower. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

TOWER by Bill Henderson
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: April 1, 2000

"Henderson may meander a bit, but his search for fulfillment and a renewed outlook on life lands on solid and fertile ground. (10 b&w illustrations)"
Pushcart Press founder and publisher Henderson (Minutes of the Lead Pencil Club, 1996, etc.) discovers the "utter joy of building" and shares his quest for grace, bargain lumber, and something to call God in this part-memoir, part-how-to labor of love. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CYANIDE WELLS by Marcia Muller
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: July 16, 2003

"A little hokey sometimes, but Muller's best plotting in years makes it irresistible."
Furloughing Sharon McCone after 22 cases (Dead Midnight, 2002, etc.), Muller delivers a brisk, tidy number without her. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Nov. 1, 2012

"A moving tribute to an artist who should not be forgotten."
From journalist and Motown chronicler Benjaminson (The Lost Supreme: The Life of Dreamgirl Florence Ballard, 2009, etc.), a compelling, sympathetic biography of Motown's first diva Mary Wells (1943-1992). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE WELLS BEQUEST by Polly Shulman
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 13, 2013

"A clever, sparky adventure made of science fiction, philosophy and humor. (author's note, librarian's note) (Science fiction. 10 & up)"
In this stand-alone companion to The Grimm Legacy (2010), the most extraordinary library in the world makes physical impossibilities possible. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY
Released: April 1, 1991

"No bibliography, sources, or index. (Biography. 7-9)"
Wells-Barnett (1862-1931) was a journalist whose lifelong fight against discrimination began at age 16. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

TOWER DOG by Douglas Scott Delaney
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: April 11, 2017

"A vivid book guaranteed to make readers more aware of what it takes to get that cellphone signal into his or her hand, for better or worse."
A memoir from a young "fourteen-dollar-an-hour cog in a thankless deadly wheel." Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Calling Tower by Josh Leone
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: June 15, 2015

"A promising start to a serious-minded space-opera epic."
In a far-future empire known as the Primacy, elites and spacefaring rogues are ensnared in a conspiracy by a top-tier mystic to elevate himself to godhood. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WOLF TOWER by Tanith Lee
ADVENTURE
Released: May 1, 2000

"A diverting escapade for fans of Karen Cushman's Catherine, Called Birdy (1994), Gail Carson Levine's Ella Enchanted (1997), and the like. (Fiction. 11-13)"
Lee (Saint Fire, not reviewed, etc.) opens a new series framed, belt and suspenders, in chapters and diary entries. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BABEL TOWER by A.S. Byatt
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: May 1, 1996

"Not Byatt's best."
An ambitious, intelligent work that, while aiming to get Britain's swinging '60s down pat, unfortunately scants the usual fictional elements, putting in their place a mordant and always perceptive historical critique. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

IDA B. WELLS by Walter Dean Myers
BIOGRAPHY
Released: Nov. 1, 2008

"The design sets the staunch advocate's quotations off from Myers's accessible account, printing them in a typeface as bold as their speaker. (Picture book/biography. 7-10)"
In spite of adversity, or because of it, Ida B. Wells served as a catalyst in the civil-rights movement. Read full book review >