Search Results: "Wesley K. Clark"


BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Oct. 7, 2014

"A clearly written prescription to help Americans alleviate their nation's malaise."
A retired four-star U.S. Army general and former Supreme Allied Commander Europe offers a manifesto for how his beloved nation can remain a world superpower without necessarily invading other nations. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Sept. 1, 2007

"An earnest reflection on war and peace from a commander's unique point of view."
Leadership lessons from a life of war and peace. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE LAST TIME I SAW YOU by Elizabeth Berg
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: April 1, 2010

"More cynical than her usual Anne Tyler-lite approach, Berg's depiction of her characters' mid-life follies and ongoing struggles with the specter of aging is at times hilarious, at times sad, but this time she steers clear of the maudlin to go for the jugular."
A 40th high-school reunion reawakens old insecurities and crushes among former geeks, jocks, wallflowers and beauty queens. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HARD WAY HOME by Dennis Wesley Clark
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: March 13, 2008

"A suspense-filled book that is an excellent contribution to the Vietnam canon."
Five years after the Vietnam War, the last group of American POWs escapes and tries to make their way home. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

DEADLY INSTINCT by K. E. Clark
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Feb. 12, 2013

"Pregnancies are overcomplicated in this exciting, but sometimes laborious, crime tale."
Kidnapping, drugs, murder and infertility take center stage in this debut thriller from Clark (The Story Behind the Mortgage and Housing Meltdown, 2010). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE INCREDIBLE SPACE RAIDERS FROM SPACE! by Wesley King
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 10, 2015

"If readers wanted to describe this book in Internet terms, they would be emoticons: wide-eyed surprise, tears at a few late revelations and many smiley faces at the end. (Science fiction. 8-12)"
Jonah Hillcrest is not exactly a Marty Stu. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SHELTER by Wesley Gibson
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: April 1, 1992

"Often depressing when it means to amuse; still, a brave and intriguing debut."
A coy first novel featuring a blue-collar Virginia family whose house is slowly sinking—along with their collective outlook on life. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

YOU ARE HERE by Wesley Gibson
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Jan. 7, 2004

"The limp-wrist aesthetic lingers, even as Gibson skillfully turns thoughtful, serious, and clever."
Bright young writer moves from Southern Baptist Virginia to the impious Big City and lands lodgings with roommates, in this latest gay-coming-of-age picaresque. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CHARLES JESSOLD, CONSIDERED AS A MURDERER by Wesley Stace
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Feb. 1, 2011

"Stace's versatility makes this one just about irresistible."
Nabokovian cunning distinguishes this energetic third novel from the British-born author of well-received historical fiction (by George, 2007, etc.), who leads another artistic life as popular singer-songwriter John Wesley Harding. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE WORDS I CHOSE by Wesley McNair
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: April 1, 2012

"Sensibly wrought, without lyrical affectation."
A New England poet and teacher affectingly recalls finding his voice amid a rural New Hampshire childhood deeply scarred by divorce and discipline. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

LIKING THE UNLIKABLE
by Leila Roy

I know it’s not cool to define yourself by a boy. Girls are supposed to be independent, these days. We should be Strong Female Characters, we should be tough and self-motivated and grrrrrls instead of girls. We’re supposed to run the world—girls—and look unapologetically into the camera. We don’t have to smile. We can cross our arms or curl our ...
Read the full post >