Search Results: "Willa Cather"


BOOK REVIEW

WILLA CATHER by Janis P. Stout
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Dec. 1, 2000

"Stout proves that Cather's work is more complicated and contradictory than it may seem, but her densely wrought exegeses and lack of strong biographical detail leave her subject as dry and dusty as the landscape Cather loved. (28 b&w photos)"
An intense scholarly analysis attempts to show that Pulitzer-winning Cather was far more than just a storyteller of the prairies. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE SELECTED LETTERS OF WILLA CATHER by Willa Cather
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: April 19, 2013

"A splendidly edited, generous gift to lovers of Cather and American literature."
A revealing, even revelatory collection of correspondence from Willa Cather (1873-1947), a woman who never wanted her letters made public. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WILLA by Amy Ehrlich
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 27, 2016

"A simplistic treatment for an audience likely unfamiliar with its subject. (timeline, thumbnail biographies of American women writers of Cather's time, bibliography) (Biography. 7-10)"
Ehrlich renders an admiring portrait of Cather, focusing on the relationship between her writing and the places she lived and visited. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WILLA THE WONDERFUL by Susan Milord
ADVENTURE
Released: April 21, 2003

"This new pig on the scene more closely resembles Holly Keller's Geraldine than Falconer's star pig, but the watercolor-and-ink illustrations are active and sweet. (Picture book. 4-8)"
In the tradition of Kevin Henkes's Lily and Ian Falconer's Olivia comes Willa, a young pig who has planned her career path. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CHILDREN'S
Released: July 1, 2011

"Lovers of hip, edgy or meta should look elsewhere, but this story carries its own brand of modest delight for the right reader. (Fiction. 10-15)"
Crammed with incident, yet loose and rambling and without much dramatic arc, this slice-of-life novel, the sixth in the series, charts Willa's life, loves and personal growth though part of an event-filled summer. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WILLA AND THE WIND by Janice M. Del Negro
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2005

"Nonetheless, an enjoyable read-aloud. (Fiction. 9-14)"
A literary retelling of an old Norse tale has Willa confronting the wind after he steals her cornmeal. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CHILDREN'S
Released: Jan. 8, 2008

"Complete with another of 'Willa's pix,' a list of her recommended books, this is sure to please bibliophiles, theater lovers and anyone looking for a good story. (Fiction. 10-12)"
Willa is still getting used to the idea of having JFK as her official boyfriend; her mother and stepfather are gearing up for another busy season at the inn; and Nana is working hard to come up with new taffy and fudge flavors to wow the tourists. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WILLA AND OLD MISS ANNIE by Berlie Doherty
ANIMALS
Released: April 1, 1994

"Astutely observed, elegantly crafted, and easily read, these thoughtful stories deserve a place beside Phillipa Pearce's A Dog So Small and Dick King-Smith's Sophie books. (Fiction. 6-10)"
A fine author who won Carnegie medals in both 1987 and 1992 for YA novels re-creates the sensibilities of a young child in three linked stories. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE WAY WE BARED OUR SOULS by Willa Strayhorn
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Jan. 22, 2015

"The ultimate lesson—of having empathy for oneself as well as for others whose wounds may be invisible—is well-taken though sadly heavy-handed. (Fiction. 12-15)"
Five New Mexico teens undergo a soul-cleansing ritual, with varied results. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

GOOD NIGHT WORLD by Willa Perlman
BEDTIME BOOK
Released: July 12, 2011

"A sweet dream, indeed. (Picture book. 2-5)"
A youngster settling into bed ponders a curious fact: "Elsewhere in the world it's light. / It's morning there, but here it's night." Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Feb. 1, 1995

"Although Silverman's characterization of Gyp as an anarchist is strained, the book is a fascinating examination of fin-de-siäcle France and one of its most provocative figures."
An insightful biography of a compelling and paradoxical protagonist of modern French culture. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Sept. 17, 1997

"Byatt and Sodre attempt to bring out the knowledge that resides in art alone."
Two discriminating readers invite us to listen in on seven conversations about six important novels by women. Read full book review >