Search Results: "William Bernhardt"


BOOK REVIEW

LEGAL BRIEFS by William Bernhardt
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: June 1, 1998

"More routine entries by Philip Friedman, Steve Martini, and Grif Stockley round out the all-star cast, doing mostly all-star work."
Who says lawyers can't write anything short? Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NAKED JUSTICE by William Bernhardt
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Feb. 1, 1997

"Ben turns in a creditable job in the courtroom (and runs a mean five-minute mile), but not even the dream team could pull all the threads of this tangled case together."
Hangdog Tulsa lawyer Ben Kincaid (Cruel Justice, 1996, etc.) is stuck with another hopeless case—a mayor who allegedly killed his wife and daughters. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

DARK EYE by William Bernhardt
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Jan. 25, 2005

"Bernhardt's lawyer series (Hate Crime, 2004, etc.) has had its ups and downs, but ne'er so deep a plunge as this pulpy mix of uninspired plotting, warmed-over characters, and dialogue from the cutting-room floor."
Variations on a threadbare theme: the infernally brilliant serial killer, who this time thinks he's Edgar Allan Poe, or Jesus Christ, or maybe both. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MURDER ONE by William Bernhardt
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: April 3, 2001

"Light on realism, littered with clichéd types, and clumsy dialogue, Murder One comes to fitful life only during the courtroom scenes. Not even Ben's foray into do-it-yourself justice rings true."
Upright Ben Kincaid, that paragon of lawyerly virtue, teeters on the edge of the ethical divide in this latest of his long-running series (Silent Justice, 2000, etc.). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SILENT JUSTICE by William Bernhardt
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Feb. 1, 2000

"A harrowing cautionary tale of splendid suspense and superb courtroom jousting cheapened by a pointlessly violent climax and a deus-ex-machina ending."
With a bow to Jonathan Harr and A Civil Action, Ben Kincaid, Bernhardt's fictional Saint Jude of lawyers, puts his career and sanity at risk as he takes on a local manufacturing company whose careless disposal of cleaning solvents contaminated a municipal water supply. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NEMESIS by William Bernhardt
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Jan. 13, 2009

"Sticking fairly close to the historical record, Bernhardt (Capitol Conspiracy, 2008, etc.) delivers an interesting rise-and-fall story that would have been more compelling if it were better written."
Once he's jailed Al Capone, what does the nation's foremost gangbuster do for an encore? Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CAPITOL CONSPIRACY by William Bernhardt
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Jan. 15, 2008

"The real problem isn't the implausible plotting and pulpy prose but the lack of resemblance between Bernhardt's puppets and human beings."
Treachery, murder and high-stakes politics land Ben Kincaid (Capitol Threat, 2007, etc.) amid strange bedfellows. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CAPITOL THREAT by William Bernhardt
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Feb. 27, 2007

"Give Bernhardt (Capitol Murder, 2006, etc.) anything like a courtroom and he holds his own. Beyond that, it's pot-boiling."
You can take a smart lawyer out of Oklahoma, but you can't take the Oklahoma smarts out of Ben Kincaid. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HATE CRIME by William Bernhardt
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Feb. 1, 2004

"Lively courtroom scenes, as usual, but the rest is midgrade pulp."
Nobody takes more can't-win cases than windmill-tilter Ben Kincaid. So why won't he touch this one? Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

DEATH ROW by William Bernhardt
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: June 1, 2003

"Despite a constant habit of crosscutting that suggests he doesn't trust the drama his scenes create on their own, Bernhardt, unlike his struggling hero, does his very best work in wrapping up this clever mystery."
Seven years after he failed to get a client acquitted of a horrendous multiple murder, Tulsa lawyer Ben Kincaid has one last chance to keep him from being executed. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CRIMINAL INTENT by William Bernhardt
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Sept. 1, 2002

"Good courtroom scenes can't dispel a familiar feeling: been there, read that."
Tulsa attorney Ben Kincaid (Murder One, 2001, etc.) is still charging hard against a criminal-justice system that keeps getting it wrong. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

DARK JUSTICE by William Bernhardt
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Jan. 1, 1999

"Series veterans will know better than to look for anything new."
Windmill-tilting Tulsa lawyer Ben Kincaid (Naked Justice, 1997, etc.), promoting his first book among the vanishing virgin forests of the Northwest, takes on a defense case as hopeless as anything back home. Read full book review >