Search Results: "William Campbell Gault"


BOOK REVIEW

MARKSMAN by William Campbell Gault
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: May 10, 2003

"A standout collection in the publisher's Lost Classics series."
This first collection by Gault—best known for his YA fiction and the hardboiled mysteries starring ex-football player Brock "The Rock" Callahan he published nearly 50 years ago—suggests that he may have saved his best stuff for his short fiction. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

EXPIRATION DAY by William Campbell Powell
SCIENCE FICTION & FANTASY
Released: April 22, 2014

"An auspicious debut. (Science fiction. 13 & up)"
In this coming-of-age diary, a girl navigates life in a dystopic near-future. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE MERMAID AND THE SHOE by K.G. Campbell
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 2014

"Although this luminous tale of self-discovery has echoes of 'The Little Mermaid,' like Minnow, it sings its own strong song. (Picture book. 3-7)"
Unlike her talented older sisters, a little mermaid feels disappointingly ordinary until her curiosity unveils her special skills. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

A Mansion on the Moon by C. Sablan Gault
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Nov. 24, 2015

"An engaging tale of familial history and cross-cultural romances."
A debut historical novel examines three generations of women on the island of Guam and their complicated liaisons. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CARTBOY GOES TO CAMP by L.A. Campbell
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 10, 2014

"Fans of the first will probably be disappointed; at best, it's a desperation read-alike for Big Nate or Wimpy Kid. (Graphic/fiction hybrid. 9-12)"
Can Hal survive Camp Jamestown or will he becometh history? Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CARTBOY AND THE TIME CAPSULE by L.A. Campbell
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 3, 2013

"A certain series starter (thankfully), given the promise of an interesting summer in the final pages. (Fiction. 8-12)"
Bad enough history class is so boring; now it's keeping Hal from getting his own room. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE BLACK DIAMOND DETECTIVE AGENCY by Eddie Campbell
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: June 1, 2007

"The veteran artist rises to a new challenge."
A visually stunning graphic narrative with all sorts of complicated plot twists. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: May 5, 2015

"Waggish and occasionally wise, the strong-minded author delivers a potent dose of motherly advice and experience."
How one woman returned to more old-fashioned parenting skills to raise her children. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

BEST BOOKS OF 2016: WILLIAM GIRALDI
by Joe M. O'Connell

Novelist William Giraldi found writing his memoir The Hero's Body at once arduous and simple.

The book entwines his experiences as a teenage bodybuilder, the story of his ultra-macho working-class family and his father's untimely death in a motorcycle crash when he was in his 40s, the author in his 20s.

"I really started writing it when my ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

THE TROUBLES OF JOHNNY CANNON by Isaiah Campbell
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 14, 2014

"Over-the-top fun for readers who can overlook the implausibilities. (Historical action. 9-14)"
It's 1961 in Cullman, Alabama, and Johnny Cannon has more troubles than any "almost-thirteen-year-old" ought to have. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: March 22, 1989

Volume II of a human-behavior series that began with Eye to Eye (1988): a copiously illustrated explication of inborn and societal causes for male-female differences that takes us from womb to adulthood. Read full book review >