Search Results: "William Campbell Gault"


BOOK REVIEW

MARKSMAN by William Campbell Gault
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: May 10, 2003

"A standout collection in the publisher's Lost Classics series."
This first collection by Gault—best known for his YA fiction and the hardboiled mysteries starring ex-football player Brock "The Rock" Callahan he published nearly 50 years ago—suggests that he may have saved his best stuff for his short fiction. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

EXPIRATION DAY by William Campbell Powell
SCIENCE FICTION & FANTASY
Released: April 22, 2014

"An auspicious debut. (Science fiction. 13 & up)"
In this coming-of-age diary, a girl navigates life in a dystopic near-future. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

A Mansion on the Moon by C. Sablan Gault
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Nov. 24, 2015

"An engaging tale of familial history and cross-cultural romances."
A debut historical novel examines three generations of women on the island of Guam and their complicated liaisons. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE MERMAID AND THE SHOE by K.G. Campbell
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 2014

"Although this luminous tale of self-discovery has echoes of 'The Little Mermaid,' like Minnow, it sings its own strong song. (Picture book. 3-7)"
Unlike her talented older sisters, a little mermaid feels disappointingly ordinary until her curiosity unveils her special skills. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CARTBOY GOES TO CAMP by L.A. Campbell
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 10, 2014

"Fans of the first will probably be disappointed; at best, it's a desperation read-alike for Big Nate or Wimpy Kid. (Graphic/fiction hybrid. 9-12)"
Can Hal survive Camp Jamestown or will he becometh history? Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CARTBOY AND THE TIME CAPSULE by L.A. Campbell
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 3, 2013

"A certain series starter (thankfully), given the promise of an interesting summer in the final pages. (Fiction. 8-12)"
Bad enough history class is so boring; now it's keeping Hal from getting his own room. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE BLACK DIAMOND DETECTIVE AGENCY by Eddie Campbell
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: June 1, 2007

"The veteran artist rises to a new challenge."
A visually stunning graphic narrative with all sorts of complicated plot twists. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: May 5, 2015

"Waggish and occasionally wise, the strong-minded author delivers a potent dose of motherly advice and experience."
How one woman returned to more old-fashioned parenting skills to raise her children. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

WILLIAM MCKEEN
by Gregory McNamee

Charles Manson had a sweet, clear voice, reminiscent of Chet Baker’s, that could carry a pop song, a jazz standard, or a show tune. He wrote some good songs, a couple of which became unironic hipster anthems decades later. He charmed his way into an elite circle of Los Angeles musicians, and he swayed a few of them to record ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY
Released: Jan. 3, 2012

"A missed opportunity to offer something special. (Nonfiction. 12 & up)"
Starting with the inauguration of Barack Obama in 2009 and working back to the early 1960s, Hunter-Gault covers many of the significant moments in the civil rights movement, including her own pivotal role in desegregating the University of Georgia. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

IN MY PLACE by Charlayne Hunter-Gault
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Nov. 1, 1992

"A remarkably generous, fair-minded account of overcoming some of the biggest, and most intractable, obstacles ever deployed by southern racists. (Photographs—not seen.)"
From the national correspondent for PBS's MacNeil-Lehrer Newshour: a moving memoir of her youth in the Deep South and her role in desegregating the Univ. of Georgia. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: June 1, 2006

"A refreshing alternative to the dismal views of Africa's prospects that pervade the press."
Despite HIV/AIDS, oppressive governments, genocide and poverty, the winds of hope are blowing across much of Africa, declares one of the most celebrated names in American racial history. Read full book review >