Search Results: "William McGuire"


BOOK REVIEW

MARTY MCGUIRE by Kate Messner
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 1, 2011

"Believable and endearing characters in a realistic elementary-school setting will be just the thing for fans of Clementine and Ramona. (Fiction. 7-10)"
When the promised land of third grade does not pan as promised, Marty McGuire finds herself playing a completely new role. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SOUTHEAST ASIANS by William McGuire
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 1, 1991

A dry but evenhanded summary of the harrowing social and political circumstances in Vietnam, Laos, and Cambodia that prompted more than a million people to flee overseas introduces an account of the mixed reception they have received in the U.S. McGuire examines how refugees are prepared by government workers and volunteer agencies (``Volags'') for life here and how successful these efforts have been. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MARTY MCGUIRE DIGS WORMS! by Kate Messner
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 2012

"A quick, amusing read with an easily digestible environmental message; it is a perfect match for its young intended audience. (Fiction. 6-9)"
Third-grader Marty and her classmates are given a challenge by a visiting environmentalist: to develop Earth-friendly projects that she will then judge. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FRAME AND THE MCGUIRE by Joanna M. Weston
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 24, 2016

"A promising debut novel with a brave, endearing female protagonist. (Historical mystery. 8-12)"
Fifth-grader Frame is thrown into a sharp learning curve after she and her brother, Ranger, discover family friend Uncle Tam's dead body in a river. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE WORLD OF DAUGHTER MCGUIRE by Sharon Dennis Wyeth
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 1994

"Yet Wyeth is to be commended for taking on a big subject and providing means for one individual to formulate a satisfying answer. (Fiction. 9-12)"
Racial and ethnic identity are untangled and rewoven by one Daughter McGuire, 11, who—with her mother and younger brothers- -has moved next door to her grandparents in Washington, D.C., while her father has run off to Colorado to write a book. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WILLIAM WYLER by Gabriel Miller
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: July 22, 2013

"A welcome addition to the literature of filmmaking."
Comprehensive biography of the pioneering Hollywood director, whose oeuvre included such diverse films as Wuthering Heights (1939), Mrs. Miniver (1942) and Funny Girl (1968). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WILLIAM MCKINLEY by Kevin Phillips
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Sept. 1, 2003

"An instructive, graceful look at a neglected presidency."
An engaging life of the stoical Buckeye politician, whom Phillips (Wealth and Democracy, 2002, etc.) reckons to be "an upright and effective president of the solid second rank." Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: Oct. 21, 1999

"A first-rate biography of a towering medical influence."
A well-told, enjoyable, enlightening—and much needed—biography of a giant of medical practice and education. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CIRCLE WILLIAM by Bill Harlow
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Feb. 18, 1999

"Though some of his characters are engaging and the Beltway stuff interesting, what should be gripping never is."
Libya plots a chemical weapons attack in this novice entry in the Tom Clancy Stakes. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WILLIAM STYRON by James L.W. West
Released: April 1, 1998

"A masterful achievement. (16 pages b&w photos, not seen)"
This meticulously crafted, well-paced biography should go a long way toward burnishing Styron's reputation. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: May 25, 1981

"Otherwise, this is more a portrait of others' need for Burroughs to be an elder Great than of the more modest (and more engaging) actuality."
After the resounding thud made by Burroughs' last novel, Cities of the Red Night, these transcriptions of table-talk serve some rehabilitative purpose, presenting a picture of an aging, conservative, serious man who, with his best work perhaps now behind him, admits himself that he may have come to sound "like some sort of great nineteenth-century crank who thought that brown sugar was the answer to everything and was practicing something he called brain breathing." Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

“FIRE! FIRE!” SAID MRS. MCGUIRE by Bill Martin Jr.
ANIMALS
Released: May 1, 2006

"A die-cut keyhole adds extra interest, though for design reasons it only penetrates the first few pages and the last one. (Picture book. 4-6)"
For the third set of illustrations put to Martin's much-revised version of an old rhyme (Ted Schroeder, 1970; Richard Egielski, 1996), Radunsky creates a cast of fuzzy-edged mice in a darkened room, who sound the alarm after spotting flames visible through a door's keyhole. Read full book review >