Search Results: "Yih-Fen Chou"


BOOK REVIEW

MIMI SAYS NO by Yih-Fen Chou
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2010

"Add this title to large collections; leave Mimi Loves to Mimic behind and hunt up Frank Asch's classic Just Like Daddy (1981) instead. (Picture book. 2-4)"
In this twinned salute to toddler traditions, one entry swims and the other flounders. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

REELING IN RUSSIA by Fen Montaigne
NON-FICTION
Released: June 30, 1998

"The very stuff of footloose travel—strange companions, confounding situations, unexpected moments of fear and eye-popping wonder—told with a journalist's eye for detail. (Author tour)"
A quiet, evocative ramble through the Russian countryside by a former Philadelphia Inquirer Moscow bureau chief, who had made it his quest to fly-fish from the White Sea to Kamchatka and visit every Stalinist labor camp along the way. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Nov. 9, 2010

"Sobering, fact-based cautionary treatise on the quiet storm of climate change."
An online magazine writer witnesses the incremental damage of global warming firsthand. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

B. BEAR AND LOLLY by A.A. Livingston
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 23, 2015

"The mix of fairy tales is fun, but though things work out for the three friends in the end, Lolly may seem too vengeful for many readers, adult or child. (Picture book. 4-8)"
B. Bear and Lolly are back in a tale about owning up to mistakes…and maybe about anger and vengeance too (B. Bear and Lolly: Off to School, 2014). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW


"Although this whimsical tale may comfort toddlers missing their balloons, some eco-conscious parents may object to its premise."
Author Chou and illustrator Bartolanzo offer this charming tale of a floating boy who follows his lost balloon. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CAPTAIN FREDDY COUNTS DOWN TO SCHOOL by Elizabeth Shreeve
CHILDREN'S
Released: July 12, 2016

"While not as strong as Sue Ganz-Schmitt and Shane Prigmore's Planet Kindergarten (2014), it's a great choice for space fans and a good way to introduce kids to distraction as a coping technique. (bibliography, further reading) (Picture book. 4-8)"
A boy anxious about his first day of school settles his nerves with some pretend play. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: April 3, 1989

A savvy, damning critique of the "predictable, inevitable [and] wasteful" ways in which the US stocks its defensive/offensive arsenal; from a professor of international relations at Canada's Carelton Univ. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MONSTER & SON by David LaRochelle
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 12, 2016

"Monstrous good fun to share with your own favorite beast. (Picture book. 4-7)"
Monster parents aren't all that different from human ones. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

B. BEAR AND LOLLY by A.A. Livingston
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 24, 2014

"While it's a relatively appealing addition to the fractured-fairy-tale and back-to-school shelves, this may replace going-to-school worries with having-a-friend fears—not every child comes equipped with a pal like Lolly. (Picture book. 4-7)"
Apparently, Goldilocks and the littlest bear (don't you dare call him Baby) became best friends after the infamous porridge/chair/bed encounter, and now, they face the first day of school together. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SAY WHAT? by Angela DiTerlizzi
CHILDREN'S
Released: July 12, 2011

"For preschoolers who enjoy language play, this opens up whole new opportunities for communication. (Picture book. 2-5)"
A small boy wonders and speculates what animals might mean by their traditional sounds. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SURVIVING GALERAS by Stanley Williams
NON-FICTION
Released: April 17, 2001

"Frightening and fascinating."
An expertly narrated account of natural mayhem, in the tradition of Into Thin Air and The Perfect Storm. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ORLEANS by Sherri L. Smith
YOUNG ADULT
Released: March 7, 2013

"A harrowing and memorable ride. (Science fiction. 14 & up)"
Smith imagines a captivating and truly frightening future for the United States, one in which six devastating hurricanes follow Katrina's path right into the heart of the crippled Gulf Coast. Read full book review >