Search Results: "Ysabeau S. Wilce"


BOOK REVIEW

FANTASY
Released: Sept. 1, 2008

"This fresh and funky setting is rich with glorious costumes, innovative language and tantalizing glimpses of history. (Fantasy. 12-15)"
Fourteen-year-old Flora Nemain Fyrdraaca ov Fyrdraaca thought everything would get better when her father's sanity returned after her adventures in Flora Segunda (2007). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BOOK REVIEW

YOUNG ADULT
Released: May 8, 2012

"Flora fans will love old mysteries solved while new mysteries prep for volume four. (Fantasy. 12-15)"
The bumbling-if-adorable heroine of Flora Segunda (2007) takes off on a less clownish adventure through a parallel North America. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PROPHECIES, LIBELS & DREAMS by Ysabeau S. Wilce
SCIENCE FICTION & FANTASY
Released: Oct. 14, 2014

"Ribald, raucous, distressingly appealing, so steeped in its own world that readers may well be driven to find everything else Wilce has written—this won't be for everyone, but oh, my precious pillows, what a joy for those who can handle it."
This collection of tales, fragments and "history" from Wilce's Califa may share a setting with the cuddly-(only)-by-comparison Flora books for teens (Flora Segunda, 2007, etc.), but don't be fooled: This is a steampunkish, rococo anthology for a decidedly more mature readership. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

6 BOOKS FOR EARLY 2017
by Ana Grilo

Who’s excited that 2016 is coming to an end soon? I know I am, and I already started wish-listing all the awesome-looking 2017 releases and preparing my challenges and goals for 2017. One of them is to continue my Time Travel Project (in which I read as many books featuring time travel as I can, old and new) and the ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

THE PLUNGE by Sindu S.
Released: Feb. 13, 2013

"Routine in its unfolding and old-fashioned in its portrayals of gender identity."
In her debut literary romance novel, S. relays the story of a vulnerable young woman who indulges in an ongoing affair with a married co-worker. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

INFINITY LOST by S. Harrison
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Nov. 1, 2015

"All setup with no payoff. (Science fiction. 12-16)"
A teenage girl's mysterious dreams suggest her past isn't what she remembers. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

A MAP OF WHERE I LIVE by S. Shankar
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: May 27, 1997

"The two tales never entirely mesh, and the anger at human perfidy remains curiously muted."
A beautifully rendered if often attenuated first novel about social disintegration in India and in a contemporary Lilliput. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Still Standing by S. Foster
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: April 28, 2015

"A sometimes-touching recollection that is outclassed by similar efforts in the growing genre of military memoirs."
A memoir about a young soldier's travails. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

UNCLE BOBBY’S WEDDING by Sarah S. Brannen
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 1, 2008

"At the festive wedding, Chloe declares, 'I planned it all from the beginning,' as she realizes that she isn't losing an uncle, she's gaining one. (Picture book. 2-6)"
A modest, affable look at jealousy and reassurance. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

JANE & MIZMOW by Matthew S.  Armstrong
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 1, 2011

"A whimsical, gentle reminder that even the best friendships occasionally wobble, especially if a quirky, but endearing monster's involved. (Picture book. 3-5)"
A little girl and her rather unusual pal quarrel, but they know just how to make up, too, in this charming paean to friendship. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MADAME MARTINE by Sarah S. Brannen
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2014

"Enchanting. (Picture book. 4-7)"
Adopting a stray dog inspires a routine-bound woman to take a new view of the world. Read full book review >