Search Results: "Zoë Klein"


BOOK REVIEW

THE GOBLINS OF KNOTTINGHAM by Zoë Klein
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 1, 2017

"Tear off a chunk of challah instead. (Picture book. 4-7)"
Who knew? It turns out that mischievous green creatures are responsible for challah, that tasty staple of Jewish festivals. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

DRAWING IN THE DUST by Zoë Klein
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: July 1, 2009

"Flawed but lively."
Love-crazed 2,500-year-old ghosts prompt a discovery that shakes biblical scholarship to its foundations in Rabbi Klein's far-fetched but zesty debut. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

TRY SOMETHING NEW: DEBUT SCIENCE FICTION AND FANTASY NOVELS
by John DeNardo

Are you feeling stuck in a literary rut? Dr. John has the cure!

OK, I confess. I am not an actual doctor, but I do have a tempting selection of notable debut novels that just hit the bookstore shelves. If you're looking for something new, read one of these and call me in the morning...

 

Like a Fly ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

SARAH PRAGER

Oh, how I wish an anthology of LGBTQ heroes existed in the 1990s! Back then there were so few queer role models, I was convinced I couldn’t be a lesbian because I didn’t have short hair.

“Well, that’s why I wrote it—I wish I’d had that, too,” says Sarah Prager, author of Queer, There, and Everywhere: 23 People Who ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

DARKNESS HIDDEN by Zoë Marriott
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Nov. 10, 2015

"Save this action-packed but derivative adventure for die-hard shonen manga buffs. (Urban fantasy. 13-16)"
The Underworld makes another bid for control of Mio's mystical sword. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

DAUGHTER OF THE FLAMES by Zoë Marriott
FANTASY
Released: Feb. 1, 2009

A tantalizing prologue settles into satisfactory adventure, dampened by excessive description. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

EVERYTHING YOU KNOW by Zoë Heller
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Jan. 6, 2000

"Willy's caustic, witty voice (cockroaches walk around —like ambulatory patent leather handbags—) keeps his mournful tale sturdily on course and safely protected from the maudlin."
Heller's first is a smart take on hoary subjects—Jewish deracination, the moral vileness of Hollywood—that nevertheless offers real pleasures and marks the writer as one to watch. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE POLLEN ROOM by Zoë Jenny
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: March 4, 1999

"The result, though, is no more moving than a long pout, like living for 160 pages with a teenager who knows nothing and insists on telling you all of it."
Said to be a grand success in Europe, 24-year-old Jenny's novel, to a reader this side of the Atlantic, seems to be made mainly of youthful airs and posturings. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SHADOWS ON THE MOON by Zoë Marriott
Released: April 1, 2012

"A dark yet very fresh fairy-tale reinvention. (QR code to digitally access poetry written by characters) (Fantasy. 14 & up)"
"Cinderella" is reimagined as a revenge story set in an alternate feudal Japan. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

DAVID’S STORY by Zoë  Wicomb
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: April 15, 2001

"A provocative post-apartheid novel that raises troubling questions about the role of women, Coloreds, and other non-African minorities in the new South Africa."
The publisher's latest entry in the Women Writing Africa series: a postmodern tale of the new South Africa that brings a rich sense of allusion, irony, and the past to the dangers the hero, a Griqua descendant of the original Khoi inhabitants, faces when he finds his life threatened in an increasingly African nationalist milieu. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE ONE THAT GOT AWAY by Zoë  Wicomb
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: June 1, 2009

"Writing fiction connecting Scotland and South Africa presents a challenge, but Wicomb makes both worlds her own."
Elliptical stories about the complexities of race, class, gender, generation and geography. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LIVING AS GOD by Zoë Joncheere
Released: Oct. 22, 2012

"Underdeveloped ideas that may serve as interesting conversation starters."
Joncheere's debut work, a manual on how to "transform consciousness," explores managing unruly thoughts and finding real happiness in one's "Self." Read full book review >