Search Results: "d'Aulaire, Ingri &amp Edgar Parin"


BOOK REVIEW

POCAHONTAS by Ingri & Edgar Parin d'Aulaire
Released: June 15, 1946

"But the d'Aulaires have a market, so don't overlook the book."
Whenever the d'Aulaires choose an American subject, I feel a distinct sense of disappointment. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ME! ME! ABC by Harriet Ziefert
ABC BOOKS
Released: May 1, 2006

"Use selectively. (Picture book. 3-5)"
In a terse alphabet for the self-absorbed, Bergen digitally adds an occasional background or detail to 26 close-up views of the vinyl animal characters she manufactures, which appear with such demanding captions as "Admire me," "Buckle me," "E-mail me," "Gimme!" Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Glitch in the Machine by Edgar Swamp
SCIENCE FICTION & FANTASY
Released: April 20, 2015

"Overlong but astonishing social commentary."
Swamp's (The Gyre Mission: Journey to the *sshole of the World, 2012) comic and obscene cautionary tale pits the haves against the have-nots in a remarkably unpleasant future. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Nov. 1, 2001

"Still, by highlighting an often overlooked theater of battle, Edgar provides a solid addition to the Revolutionary War literature."
A useful study of the Revolutionary War as it played out in a remote—but critically important—region of the southern colonies. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Who Made God?  by Edgar Andrews
NON-FICTION
Released: March 2, 2016

"A thoughtful and well-written argument for the existence of God."
Andrews (A Glorious High Throne, 2003, etc.) challenges the assertions of New Atheists in this volume, now in its third edition.Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MEDDLING KIDS by Edgar Cantero
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: July 11, 2017

"Meddling? Middling. A pleasing enough confection, but no great advance for either pop culture or the author's development."
Barcelona-based novelist Cantero (The Supernatural Enhancements, 2014) returns with a lightly spun yarn steeped in decades-old American pop media. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE VISCONTI HOUSE by Elsbeth Edgar
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 1, 2011

"Fans of Blue Balliett and Elise Broach's Shakespeare's Secret (2005) will enjoy another puzzle to solve. (author's note) (Mystery. 9-12)"
Whether it's because she would rather write stories alone than hang out with her gossiping classmates or because she lives in the Visconti House, a crumbling Italianate villa (which, everyone assumes, must be haunted), Year 8 Aussie Laura Horton always feels like an outsider. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE SUPERNATURAL ENHANCEMENTS by Edgar Cantero
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Aug. 12, 2014

"Freemasonry, of course, figures into the equation. Quirky in presentation and good fun throughout, Cantero's yarn pleases at every turn."
Southern gothic meets Euro hipness in Catalan novelist Cantero's inventive, enjoyable outing in postmodern mystery writing. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: April 12, 2011

"An engaging read, upbeat and inspiring."
The impressive story of how one socially conscious young American woman is changing the lives of poor women in third-world countries. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HURRY HOME by John Edgar Wideman
Released: March 25, 1970

"It deserves to find more than one home."
If you can, that is. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE CATTLE KILLING by John Edgar Wideman
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Oct. 2, 1996

"A dazzling apocalyptic meditation—and a brilliantly imagined portrayal of 18th century America—that nevertheless lacks coherence and presents a web of enigmatic symbolism so thickly woven that many willing readers simply won't know what to make of it."
A complex and challenging new novel from the author of Sent For You Yesterday (1985), Fever (1989), and other rich, provocative examinations of America's heritage of racial injustice. Read full book review >