Search Results: "emily m. danforth"


BOOK REVIEW

Released: Feb. 7, 2012

"Rich with detail and emotion, a sophisticated read for teens and adults alike. (Fiction. 14 & up)"
Set in rural Montana in the early 1990s, this lesbian coming-of-age story runs the gamut from heart-rending to triumphant, epic to mundane. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE RELEVANCE OF RELIGION by John Danforth
NON-FICTION
Released: Oct. 13, 2015

"Well-reasoned advice sure to fall on many deaf ears."
A retired politician advises people of faith on how to influence politics in a civilized manner. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SEARCHING FOR GATSBY by Niki Danforth
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Dec. 3, 2016

"Readers may guess the killer before the big reveal, but they'll also find that the journey is just as enjoyable as the destination."
A middle-aged private investigator looks for romance—and a murderer—among the moneyed in this mystery novel. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

A WILD RIDE by Niki Danforth
Released: May 10, 2015

"A pleasant novel that may have trouble standing out for young readers."
In Danforth's (Stunner: A Ronnie Lake Mystery, 2013) illustrated middle-grade novel, a young girl gets a special birthday gift—a magical horse—with whom she goes on adventures, including protecting a wild herd of mustangs from horse thieves. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

RESURRECTION by John C. Danforth
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Sept. 21, 1994

"Strictly for the converted. (First printing of 50,000; author tour)"
A personal, insider's view of the confirmation process for Supreme Court Justice Clarence Thomas, from the justice's chief Senate sponsor. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WENDELL THE NARWHAL by Emily Dove
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2015

"Whether would-be musicians or not, children will find a lot to like in little Wendell. (Picture book. 2-5)"
Teamwork helps a narwhal to participate in an underwater orchestra. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MONKEY AND ME by Emily Gravett
ANIMALS
Released: March 4, 2008

"Playfully set typography finishes off this fizzy offering, which is perfectly in tune with the way a child's imagination and a beloved toy are all the ingredients needed for happiness. (Picture book. 3-6)"
"Monkey and me, / Monkey and me, / Monkey and me, / We went to see, / We went to see some . . . / PENGUINS!" Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE KIDS’ FUN BOOK OF JEWISH TIME by Emily Sper
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 1, 2006

"She concludes on an appreciative note, quoting Psalm 90: 'Count our days with thanks and we will bring wisdom to the heart.' (Picture book. 3-8)"
The highly successful creator of Jewish-themed toy and movable books introduces the concept of the Judaic lunar calendar to young children including terminology in both Hebrew and English for counting and naming the days of the week and months. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WOLVES by Emily Gravett
ANIMALS
Released: Aug. 1, 2006

"Brilliant fun. (Picture book. 5-8)"
With a nod to David Wiesner's classic, The Three Pigs (2001), newcomer Gravett creates a postmodern story that can easily be enjoyed by a less sophisticated audience. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WHERE DID THEY GO? by Emily Bornoff
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 9, 2016

"Seek-and-find fans will enjoy the challenge, but both the point and much of the informational detail are lost amid the artsy touches. (Picture book. 6-8)"
To give readers ways to visualize the idea of rarity, Bornoff invites viewers to pick out 13 threatened creatures hidden in as many intricately patterned landscapes. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

TEA TO SEE
by Jennie K.

BOOK REPORT for The Leaf Reader by Emily Arsenault

Cover Story: Drink Me
BFF Charm: Maybe
Swoonworthy Scale: 2
Talky Talk: Straight Up With A Twist
Bonus Factor: Tasseomancy
Relationship Status: Not Seeing A Future

Cover Story: Drink Me

I like this cover well enough—the shattered teacup is a little on the nose, but the painting-like quality and dark tones ...


Read the full post >