Search Results: "if you find me"


BOOK REVIEW

IF YOU FIND ME by Emily Murdoch
YOUNG ADULT
Released: March 26, 2013

"A compelling narrative that is both unflinching about life's pain and hopeful about its possibilities. (Fiction 14 & up)"
Ten years after her abduction, 15-year-old Carey is returned to her father and must face harsh realities about her mother, her little sister and their life in the Tennessee woods. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

IF YOU FIND THIS by Matthew Baker
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 17, 2015

" Lively, entertaining and satisfying. (Adventure. 9-12)"
Middle school misfit Nicholas embarks on a wild adventure involving long-lost family heirlooms. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

IF YOU FIND A ROCK by Peggy Christian
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 2000

"Like Meredith Hooper's Pebble in My Pocket (not reviewed), this suggests to children the rewards of taking closer looks at these most commonplace of natural objects. (Picture book. 6-8)"
With hand-colored photos of grave children holding, sitting on, or clambering over rocks, Christian (Chocolate, A Glacier Grizzly, 1997) poetically suggests picking up pebbles to see if they are skipping rocks or scraping rocks, wishing rocks or worry rocks, or perhaps just rocks with marvelous things in or under them. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: Feb. 27, 2016

"A kids' book that, despite some omissions, should spark young readers' interest in modern Egypt."
Roman's (Can a Princess Be a Firefighter?, 2016, etc.) series of cross-cultural children's books continues in this basic introduction to ancient and modern Egypt, with helpful illustrations by Wierenga (If You Were Me and Lived In…Italy, 2015, etc.). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

If You Were Me and Lived in ...the American West by Carole P. Roman
Released: June 18, 2016

"Though offering less polished prose than in previous series volumes, this installment with its approachable illustrations serves as a reasonable introduction to westward expansion."
Author Roman and illustrator Tabor (If You Were Me and Lived In…the Middle Ages, 2016, etc.) return to their history series with this illustrated primer on the Oregon Trail during pioneer days.Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

IF YOU ASK ME by Betty White
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: May 3, 2011

"A quick, pleasant read from an author whose writing voice is surprisingly reminiscent of her speaking voice."
The beloved actress shares some of her recent experiences. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WHERE YOU CAN FIND ME by Sheri Joseph
Released: April 16, 2013

"A fraught subject, handled with gravitas and, improbably, grace."
A family moves to Costa Rica to heal from a kidnapping. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

IF YOU WERE ME AND LIVED ON...MARS by Carole P. Roman
Released: Jan. 9, 2017

"A book that will expand readers' horizons with its scientific foray into the solar system."
Roman and Arkova's (Can a Princess Be a Firefighter?, 2017, etc.) picture book imagines what life might be like for the first colonists on Mars.Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

IF YOU KNEW ME by Anne Roiphe
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Aug. 4, 1993

"Roiphe shows us a new facet of first love here—slightly worn, but its shine is deep."
In all her best work, Roiphe (The Pursuit of Happiness, 1991, etc.) has mined the depth of human love and exposed its secret lode of sorrow. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

IF YOU WANT TO FIND GOLDEN by Eileen Spinelli
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 1993

"Nice. (Picture book. 5-8)"
``...watch the morningrise melt/across rooftops/and splash against windows./There's a man on the street corner/who plays golden saxophone./Listen to the music,/dance in the sun...'' For the usual colors and more (black, white, copper, gray), Spinelli's imaginative text, sampling all the senses (the smell of green onions, the taste of cilantro), occasions Schuett's attractive full-bleed paintings, featuring the city scenes described in lush symphonies of color, each with a thematic hue. Read full book review >