Video Interviews (page 11)


Mary Pope Osborne

author of DANGER IN THE DARKEST HOUR

January 6, 2015
DANGER IN THE DARKEST HOUR by Mary Pope Osborne Danger in the Darkest Hour is beloved children’s writer Mary Pope Osborne’s latest entry in the Magic Tree House series and it features Jack and Annie’s most dangerous mission ever. The magic tree house has taken Jack and Annie back in time to England in 1944. England is fighting for its life in World War II. Before long, Jack and Annie find themselves parachuting into Normandy, France, behind enemy lines. The date is June 5. Will the brave brother and sister team be able to make a difference during one of the darkest times in history? “It appears there is nowhere Osborne’s Magic Tree House cannot take readers, as this successful foray suggests,” our reviewer writes. View video >

Celeste Ng

author of EVERYTHING I NEVER TOLD YOU

December 16, 2014
EVERYTHING I NEVER TOLD YOU by Celeste Ng “Lydia is dead. But they don’t know this yet.” So begins Celeste Ng’s novel Everything I Never Told You, about a Chinese American family living in 1970s small-town Ohio. Lydia is the favorite child of Marilyn and James Lee, and her parents are determined that she will fulfill the dreams they were unable to pursue. But when Lydia’s body is found in the local lake, the delicate balancing act that has been keeping the Lee family together is destroyed, tumbling them into chaos. A story of family, secrets and longing, Everything I Never Told You is both a gripping page-turner and a sensitive family portrait. “Ng's emotionally complex debut novel sucks you in like a strong current and holds you fast until its final secrets surface,” our reviewer wrote. View video >

Beth Macy

author of FACTORY MAN

December 9, 2014
FACTORY MAN by Beth Macy The Bassett Furniture Company was once the world's biggest wood furniture manufacturer. Run by the same powerful Virginia family for generations, it was also the center of life in Bassett, Virginia. But beginning in the 1980s, the first waves of Asian competition hit, and ultimately Bassett was forced to send its production overseas. In Factory Man, Beth Macy details John Bassett’s epic struggle to keep his company in business amid unfair overseas business practices that forced many U.S. manufacturers to move their factories abroad. A brash, patriotic charmer fond of quoting George Patton. The author’s brightly written, richly detailed narrative not only illuminates globalization and the issue of offshoring, but succeeds brilliantly in conveying the human costs borne by low-income people displaced from a way of life. We like Factory Man so much, we named it to our list of Best Nonfiction Books of 2014. We talk to Macy this week on Kirkus TV. View video >

Andrew Smith

author of GRASSHOPPER JUNGLE

December 2, 2014
GRASSHOPPER JUNGLE by Andrew Smith Andrew Smith’s young adult novel Grasshopper Jungle is set in the small town of Ealing, Iowa, where Austin and his best friend, Robby, have accidentally unleashed an unstoppable army. An army of horny, hungry, six-foot-tall praying mantises that only want to do two things. This is not your everyday novel of the apocalypse, though it has the essential elements: a (dead) mad scientist, a fabulous underground bunker and gobs of messy violence. In fact, Grasshopper Jungle is so evocative, it ended up on our list of the Best Teen Books of 2014. We talk to Smith in this week’s Kirkus TV interview about the end of the world and other fun topics! View video >

Dean Hale and Shannon Hale

authors of THE PRINCESS IN BLACK

November 25, 2014
THE PRINCESS IN BLACK by Shannon Hale In Shannon and Dean Hale’s new book The Princess in Black, Princess Magnolia is having hot chocolate and scones with Duchess Wigtower when . . . Brring! Brring! The monster alarm! A big blue monster is threatening the goats! Stopping monsters is no job for dainty Princess Magnolia. But luckily Princess Magnolia has a secret —she’s also the Princess in Black, and stopping monsters is the perfect job for her! Our reviewer writes that The Princess in Black has “action, clever humor, delightful illustrations and expectation-defying secret identities—when does the next one come out?” The Princess in Black made it onto our Best Middle-Grade Books of 2014 list, which is one reason we’re delighted to talk to the Hales this week on Kirkus TV. View video >

Chelsea Cain

author of ONE KICK

November 17, 2014
ONE KICK by Chelsea Cain Best-selling thriller writer Chelsea Cain "kicks" off a new series of thrillers starring former kidnapping victim Kick Lannigan, a thorough badass if we've ever seen one. We ask Cain what it was like spending time with her new creation. View video >

Jeff Kinney

author of THE LONG HAUL

November 12, 2014
THE LONG HAUL by Jeff Kinney A family road trip is supposed to be a lot of fun…unless, of course, you’re the Heffleys of Jeff Kinney’s famous Diary of a Wimpy Kid series of books. The journey starts off full of promise, then quickly takes several wrong turns. Gas station bathrooms, crazed seagulls, a fender bender, and a runaway pig—not exactly Greg Heffley’s idea of a good time. But even the worst road trip can turn into an adventure—and this is one the Heffleys won’t soon forget. We talk to Kinney on Kirkus TV this week about the wild success of the Wimpy Kid books and his latest in the series, The Long Haul. View video >

Tavis Smiley

author of DEATH OF A KING

November 6, 2014
DEATH OF A KING by Tavis Smiley Martin Luther King, Jr. died in one of the most shocking assassinations the world has known, but little is remembered about the life he led in his final year. In Death of a King, New York Times bestselling author and award-winning broadcaster Tavis Smiley recounts the final 365 days of King's life, revealing the minister's trials and tribulations—denunciations by the press, rejection from the president, dismissal by the country's black middle class and militants, assaults on his character, ideology, and political tactics, to name a few—all of which he had to rise above in order to lead and address the racism, poverty and militarism that threatened to destroy our democracy. We caught up with Smiley at the Texas Book Festival to ask him about the book. View video >