Lambda Literary announced the winners of its annual awards at a ceremony in New York, with Catherine Lacey and Bryan Washington among the authors taking home the prizes for LGBTQ+ books.

Lacey won the lesbian fiction award for Biography of X, a novel that also won the Brooklyn Library Prize and was longlisted for the PEN/Faulkner Award. Washington took home the gay fiction prize for Family Meal; the author previously won in the category in 2020 for Lot.

Soula Emmanuel won the transgender fiction prize for Wild Geese, while Ling Ling Huang prevailed in the bisexual fiction category for Natural Beauty.

The Apartment House on Poppy Hill, written by Nina LaCour and illustrated by Sònia Albert, was the winner of the LGBTQ+ children’s books prize. The LGBTQ+ middle-grade prize went to Dear Mothman, written by Robin Gow and illustrated by Rebecca Harry, while Abdi Nazemian won in the LGBTQ+ young adult category for Only This Beautiful Moment.

Matt Baume won the LGBTQ+ nonfiction award for Hi Honey, I’m Homo! Miss Major and Toshio Meronek’s Miss Major Speaks: Conversations with a Black Trans Revolutionary won in the transgender nonfiction category, and Myriam Gurba took home the bisexual nonfiction prize for Creep.

The Lambda Literary Awards, or Lammys, were established in 1989. Previous winners include Jacqueline Woodson for Autobiography of a Family Photo, Colm Tóibín for The Master and The Empty Family, and Jennifer Finney Boylan for She’s Not There. A full list of winners is available at the Lambda Literary website.

Michael Schaub is a contributing writer.