John J. Davis

John J. Davis is the author of the Granger Spy Novel series, including Blood Line and the soon to be published sequel, Bloody Truth, available Spring 2015.

Davis grew up in the Southeastern US and after university traveled extensively in North America during his career as a regional sales rep and independent broker for leaders in the transportation, shipping and pharma industries. His years sitting in lobbies and airports honed his skill for human observation and fed his talent for writing fast-paced, character-driven stories.

His inspiration for the Granger family-of-spies  ...See more >

John J. Davis welcomes queries regarding:
Agent Representation
Events & Signings
Film Rights
Foreign Publication
Media Coverage
U.S. Publication


"Davis sets a solid foundation for more adventures. Sharply written, starring characters readers will be happy to meet again."

Kirkus Reviews


Luxury Reading Review, 2014

Midwest Book Review, 2014

Reader's Favorite - 5 Star Review, 2014

Online Book Club Review - 4 out of 4 Stars, 2014

Foreword Clarion Review, 2014

Goodreads Reviews, 2014

Favorite author John le Carre

Favorite book The Spy Who Came In from the Cold

Favorite line from a book “Just remember all the good lies have an element of truth to them.” - Ron Granger, Blood Line


Pub Date:
ISBN: 978-0990314417
Page count: 251pp
This debut thriller finds an entire family on the run from those who would sell bleeding-edge technology to the highest bidder.

In Park City, Georgia, Ron and Valerie Granger work for INESCO, a family-owned research company that develops technology for the U.S. government. Ron also happens to be an inactive CIA operative, while Valerie belonged to the Mossad, Israel’s intelligence agency. They believe they’ve set their spy careers aside to raise their teen daughter, Leecy, but a home invasion may mean otherwise. After disabling one intruder and killing the other, the Grangers meet with FBI agent John Porter. He informs them that one of the intruders is a former INESCO employee, and perhaps they wanted to kidnap Leecy and leverage her for obtaining vital Department of Defense proposals. The Grangers disagree with Porter’s theory, maintaining that INESCO projects proceed under a shroud of coded secrecy. Later, when Leecy overhears sensitive information, the Grangers must run from the FBI and into the safekeeping of Ron’s former handler, Tammy Wakefield. With her help, they realize that INESCO has a greedy mole and that Ron’s legendary reputation as a violent, take-no-prisoners operative is their best hope for protecting everyone. In his aptly titled debut, author Davis does an excellent job laying the groundwork for upcoming volumes in the series. Ron and Valerie feel like true partners and parents, and Leecy is a believable teen (“my life is on that phone!”). Clever scenes also have Ron playing with his legend as a one-man Native American kill squad who only used a knife and a tomahawk. Valerie’s past as a Mossad assassin is more explicitly referenced; readers learn that she helped get Boris Yeltsin elected. As the tightly written plot advances, however, the Grangers’ familial bonds are so pervasive that it’s hard to feel the real danger. And though the details of CIA operations and modern technology are impressive, the narrative loses some bite when everyone stops to explain things to Leecy. Nevertheless, Davis sets a solid foundation for more adventures.

Sharply written and starring characters readers will be happy to meet again.


BLOODY TRUTH (Unpublished)

Second novel in the Granger Spy Novel series.


Blood Line (Granger Spy Novel: Book 1) Trailer