Joseph Ezzo

I hold a Ph.D. in anthropology and was a practicing archaeologist for nearly 20 years. During that time I conducted research in the American Southwest and Southeast, and Central Siberia, and published scholarly works in most of the major archaeological journals.

In 2009 I enrolled in law school at the University of Arizona and earned a J.D., and currently work in the field of international human rights advocacy. Fiction writing, however, remains my first love. I have published fiction in a variety of magazines and anthologies, including all three of  ...See more >


Joseph Ezzo welcomes queries regarding:
Agent Representation
Events & Signings
Film Rights
Foreign Publication
Media Coverage
Networking
U.S. Publication

CONNECT WITH THIS AUTHOR



"Imaginative and ambitious..."

Kirkus Reviews


AWARDS, PRESS & INTERESTS

Hometown Tucson, Arizona

Favorite author Herman Melville

Favorite book Too numerous to decide

Day job International human rights consultants

Favorite line from a book "It is not on any map; true places never are." From Moby Dick

Passion in life Writing fiction, advocating for oppressed people, my two daughters


BOOKS REVIEWED BY KIRKUS:

FICTION & LITERATURE
Pub Date:
Page count: 1432pp

In Ezzo’s first series of novels, folkloric tales and unsettling violence suffuse a contemporary sea journey.

In this modern picaresque in the tradition of Gargantua and Pantagruel, Gulliver’s Travels and The Odyssey, each episode links loosely within the frame of protagonist Q’s journey of self-recovery. Q, an amnesiac, finds himself in dire situations full of brutal violence and disturbing sexual politics. With the wrathful goddess of the ocean propelling him to impossible lands, he navigates dangerous obstacles with the minimal purpose of continuing onward. A small sampling of Q’s trials: life as a kept husband in a house laden with dreamlike murals; imprisonment in a concentration camp with broken children; battles with horrific demons wielding gigantic phalli; descents into underworlds; encounters with deviant shape-shifters and a mystic with scatological powers; ballgames against Mayan gods of death; a spat in a brainwashing, postcolonial missionary camp; a conversation with Herman Melville resurrected; and many others—some disturbing, some comical, all bewildering. Ezzo’s series is vast in scope, sourcing everything from African folklore and Norse mythology to The Waste Land, Moby-Dick and Les Chants de Maldoror. To read it requires endurance and fortitude, not only to transcend its horror, but to traverse its 1,400 pages. Ezzo impressively synthesizes a great deal of information, but his prose often lacks compression, and the narration sometimes lapses into a tiring rhythm that merely relates the events of each tale. Extensive cuts could have benefitted the work; readers must sift through many pages to find Ezzo’s most insightful passages, which are stark yet striking, even though they dissipate quickly. Much of the series’ power comes in its critique of colonialism and fascism, so moments of described beauty in the text are scarce. In order to experience them, readers must be willing to suffer Q’s ordeals and gaze into an abyss, however unpleasant that vision may be.

Imaginative and ambitious, but this epic requires great patience.

ONLINE: