Book List

16 Best Books To Read in November

  • FICTION

    TERMINATION SHOCK

    NOV. 16, 2021

  • FICTION

    THE SENTENCE

    NOV. 9, 2021

FICTION

THE SENTENCE

by Louise Erdrich

A novel that reckons with ghosts—of both specific people and also the shadows resulting from America’s violent, dark habits. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • FICTION

    OUR COUNTRY FRIENDS

    NOV. 2, 2021

FICTION

OUR COUNTRY FRIENDS

by Gary Shteyngart

The Great American Pandemic Novel only Shteyngart could write, full of hyphenated identities, killer prose, and wild... Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • NONFICTION

    A BIGGER PICTURE

    NOV. 2, 2021

NONFICTION

A BIGGER PICTURE

by Vanessa Nakate

Nakate is conscious of the power her voice wields, and the world would benefit from listening. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • NONFICTION

    THESE PRECIOUS DAYS

    NOV. 23, 2021

NONFICTION

THESE PRECIOUS DAYS

by Ann Patchett

An enviable life shared with candor, emotion, and knockout storytelling power. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • NONFICTION

    ENTERTAINING RACE

    NOV. 2, 2021

NONFICTION

ENTERTAINING RACE

by Michael Eric Dyson

A thoughtful, elegantly argued contribution to the literature of Black lives in America. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • TEEN

    THE WORDS IN MY HANDS

    NOV. 30, 2021

TEENS & YOUNG ADULT

THE WORDS IN MY HANDS

by Asphyxia ; illustrated by Asphyxia

A distressingly insightful vision of the future that also offers warmth and hope. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • TEEN

    HIMAWARI HOUSE

    NOV. 9, 2021

TEENS & YOUNG ADULT

HIMAWARI HOUSE

by Harmony Becker ; illustrated by Harmony Becker

An unforgettable story of personal growth in an exquisitely rendered setting. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • TEEN

    REVOLUTION IN OUR TIME

    NOV. 23, 2021

TEENS & YOUNG ADULT

REVOLUTION IN OUR TIME

by Kekla Magoon

The highly readable and not-to-be-missed story of America’s history and current reality. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • TEEN

    BETWEEN SHADES OF GRAY

    NOV. 9, 2021

TEENS & YOUNG ADULT

BETWEEN SHADES OF GRAY

by Ruta Sepetys ; adapted by Andrew Donkin ; illustrated by Dave Kopka & Brann Livesay

A stunningly rendered graphic adaptation that will introduce new readers to this important chapter in history. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • CHILDREN'S

    MARIA TALLCHIEF

    NOV. 2, 2021

CHILDREN'S

MARIA TALLCHIEF

by Christine Day ; illustrated by Gillian Flint

Inspiringly shows how Maria Tallchief persisted and made her dreams come true. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • CHILDREN'S

    BORN ON THE WATER

    NOV. 16, 2021

  • CHILDREN'S

    STUCK

    NOV. 9, 2021

CHILDREN'S

STUCK

by Jennifer Swender

Compellingly conveys the experience of living with an invisible, stigmatized disability. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • CHILDREN'S

    A SARI FOR AMMI

    NOV. 9, 2021

CHILDREN'S

A SARI FOR AMMI

by Mamta Nainy ; illustrated by Sandhya Prabhat

This delightful picture book shines a spotlight on a rural, underrepresented Indian Muslim community. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >

More Book Lists

The Magazine: Kirkus Reviews

We continue our coverage of 2021's best books with our favorite children's and YA titles of the year plus our regular Dec. 1 issue. 

subscribe
  • The Kirkus Star

    One of the most coveted designations in the book industry, the Kirkus Star marks books of exceptional merit.

  • The Kirkus Prize

    The Kirkus Prize is among the richest literary awards in America, awarding $50,000 in three categories annually.

    See the 2020 winners.

Great Books & News Curated For You

Be the first to read books news and see reviews, news and features in Kirkus Reviews. Get awesome content delivered to your inbox every week.

Thank you!