Book List

Best Romance of 2021

  • FICTION

    A LOT LIKE ADIÓS

    SEPT. 14, 2021

FICTION

A LOT LIKE ADIÓS

by Alexis Daria

A sexy, satisfying romance about people who finally grow into being right for each other. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • FICTION

    PEOPLE WE MEET ON VACATION

    MAY 11, 2021

FICTION

PEOPLE WE MEET ON VACATION

by Emily Henry

A warm and winning "When Harry Met Sally…" update that hits all the perfect notes. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • FICTION

    THE SOULMATE EQUATION

    MAY 18, 2021

FICTION

THE SOULMATE EQUATION

by Christina Lauren

A sexy, science-filled, and surprising romance full of warmth and wit. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • FICTION

    BOMBSHELL

    AUG. 24, 2021

  • FICTION

    ONE LAST STOP

    JUNE 1, 2021

FICTION

ONE LAST STOP

by Casey McQuiston

A sweet, funny, and angst-filled romance with a speculative twist. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • FICTION

    BATTLE ROYAL

    AUG. 17, 2021

FICTION

BATTLE ROYAL

by Lucy Parker

An utterly delicious romance that's meant to be devoured. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • FICTION

    THE DATING PLAYBOOK

    AUG. 17, 2021

FICTION

THE DATING PLAYBOOK

by Farrah Rochon

This football romance is a total knockout: funny, sexy, and full of heart. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • FICTION

    THE QUEER PRINCIPLES OF KIT WEBB

    JUNE 8, 2021

FICTION

THE QUEER PRINCIPLES OF KIT WEBB

by Cat Sebastian

An irresistible story of love and adventure that will delight both newcomers and regular readers of queer romance. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • FICTION

    SEVEN DAYS IN JUNE

    JUNE 8, 2021

FICTION

SEVEN DAYS IN JUNE

by Tia Williams

A hugely satisfying romance that is electrifying and alive. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >

More Book Lists

The Magazine: Kirkus Reviews

We continue our coverage of 2021's best books with our favorite children's and YA titles of the year plus our regular Dec. 1 issue. 

subscribe
  • The Kirkus Star

    One of the most coveted designations in the book industry, the Kirkus Star marks books of exceptional merit.

  • The Kirkus Prize

    The Kirkus Prize is among the richest literary awards in America, awarding $50,000 in three categories annually.

    See the 2020 winners.

Great Books & News Curated For You

Be the first to read books news and see reviews, news and features in Kirkus Reviews. Get awesome content delivered to your inbox every week.

Thank you!