Book List

Most Empowering Picture Books of 2023

  • CHILDREN'S

    SOMETIMES IT'S NICE TO BE ALONE

    FEB. 14, 2023

CHILDREN'S

SOMETIMES IT'S NICE TO BE ALONE

by Amy Hest ; illustrated by Philip C. Stead

A sparkling reminder that nothing is as powerful as a child’s imagination. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • CHILDREN'S

    FRIENDS BEYOND MEASURE

    FEB. 28, 2023

  • CHILDREN'S

    WE ARE HERE

    JAN. 3, 2023

CHILDREN'S

WE ARE HERE

by Tami Charles ; illustrated by Bryan Collier

A powerful narrative about Black yesterdays that have built the foundation for all our tomorrows. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • CHILDREN'S

    SALAT IN SECRET

    JUNE 6, 2023

  • CHILDREN'S

    THE GOOD HAIR DAY

    MAY 23, 2023

CHILDREN'S

THE GOOD HAIR DAY

by Christian Trimmer ; illustrated by J Yang

A heartwarming story that’s ultimately about far more than hair. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • CHILDREN'S

    THE ARTIVIST

    SEPT. 5, 2023

  • CHILDREN'S

    BIG

    MAY 2, 2023

CHILDREN'S

BIG

by Vashti Harrison ; illustrated by Vashti Harrison

A healing balm with the power to make the world a bit kinder. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • CHILDREN'S

    GREENLIGHT

    JULY 18, 2023

CHILDREN'S

GREENLIGHT

by Breanna Carzoo ; illustrated by Breanna Carzoo

A stopper for readers ready…and set to…GO! Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • CHILDREN'S

    MY POWERFUL HAIR

    MARCH 21, 2023

CHILDREN'S

MY POWERFUL HAIR

by Carole Lindstrom ; illustrated by Steph Littlebird

A deeply moving and inspiring celebration of long hair and its significance in Indigenous cultures. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • CHILDREN'S

    WHEN YOU CAN SWIM

    MAY 2, 2023

CHILDREN'S

WHEN YOU CAN SWIM

by Jack Wong ; illustrated by Jack Wong

A gorgeously rendered love letter to swimming and the magical experiences that it can unlock. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • CHILDREN'S

    I’M FROM

    SEPT. 19, 2023

CHILDREN'S

I’M FROM

by Gary R. Gray Jr. ; illustrated by Oge Mora

An origin story for the ages—intimate, poetic, singular, and broadly relatable. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • CHILDREN'S

    MOLE IS NOT ALONE

    OCT. 3, 2023

CHILDREN'S

MOLE IS NOT ALONE

by Maya Tatsukawa ; illustrated by Maya Tatsukawa

A sensitive, funny, yet deeply thoughtful exploration of difficult feelings. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • CHILDREN'S

    NOT HE OR SHE, I'M ME

    OCT. 17, 2023

CHILDREN'S

NOT HE OR SHE, I'M ME

by A.M. Wild ; illustrated by Kah Yangni

How refreshing to see nonbinary joy so lovingly depicted. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • CHILDREN'S

    WHAT HAPPENED TO YOU?

    APRIL 11, 2023

More Book Lists

The Magazine: Kirkus Reviews

Featuring 337 industry-first reviews of fiction, nonfiction, children’s, and YA books; also in this issue: interviews with Sloane Crosley, Drew Daywalt, and Soyoung Park; a profile of Diane Oliver; and more

subscribe
  • kirkus star
  • The Kirkus Star

    One of the most coveted designations in the book industry, the Kirkus Star marks books of exceptional merit.

  • kirkus prize
  • The Kirkus Prize

    The Kirkus Prize is among the richest literary awards in America, awarding $50,000 in three categories annually.

Great Books & News Curated For You

Be the first to read books news and see reviews, news and features in Kirkus Reviews. Get awesome content delivered to your inbox every week.

Thank you!

Close Quickview