History Book Reviews (page 11)

BATTLE LINES by Jonathan Fetter-Vorm
HISTORY
Released: May 5, 2015

"In this gripping graphic narrative, the complexities of history achieve clarity, and the depth of the tragedy has a visceral impact."
A graphic rendering of epic destruction and intimate despair, as the authors make Civil War scholarship come alive for readers young and old. Read full book review >
LESSER BEASTS by Mark Essig
FOOD & COOKING
Released: May 5, 2015

"A lively, informative farm-to-table feast."
An enlightening culinary history of an "uncanny beast." Read full book review >

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: May 5, 2015

"A noble personification of the civil rights movement and an inspirational manual on instilling empowerment and possibility in today's youth."
A potent hybrid of prideful memoir and galvanizing guidebook derived from lectures on race and education. Read full book review >
HISTORY
Released: May 5, 2015

"Despite a little confusion regarding the movements of divisions and brigades, this is a fascinating, detailed, and generously illustrated description of the battle that changed the fate of 19th-century Europe."
In his first nonfiction book, acclaimed historical novelist Cornwell (The Empty Throne, 2015, etc.) employs his storytelling skills to bring military history out of the textbook.Read full book review >
POTSDAM by Michael Neiberg
HISTORY
Released: May 5, 2015

"Fills a hitherto surprisingly empty niche in the World War II library."
A military historian analyzes the significance of the final conference of the World War II allies. Read full book review >

HISTORY
Released: May 5, 2015

"A breathtaking survey of the human mind exponentially accelerating the accumulation of knowledge, from pratfalls to ventures beyond the veil."
A selective, guided tour of the human accumulation of knowledge from American physicist and former CalTech instructor Mlodinow (Subliminal: How Your Unconscious Mind Rules Your Behavior, 2012, etc.).Read full book review >
THE CONSTITUTION by Michael Stokes Paulsen
HISTORY
Released: May 5, 2015

"A well-conceived, well-executed primer, ideal for a bright high schooler, a college student, or even the odd professor who requires a brush up on the Constitution."
A sharp, efficient guide to the creation, content, and construction of the supreme law of the land. Read full book review >
NAKED by Brian S. Hoffman
HISTORY
Released: May 5, 2015

"An original, well-researched study that would have benefited from a livelier writing style."
A history professor's sweeping sociolegal examination of the American nudist movement from its early-20th-century beginnings. Read full book review >
BROADCAST HYSTERIA by A. Brad Schwartz
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: May 5, 2015

"An entertaining assessment of a watershed moment in American life and its lasting effect on popular culture."
A skeptical look at the panic that might have been. Read full book review >
THE WRIGHT BROTHERS by David McCullough
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: May 5, 2015

"An educational and inspiring biography of seminal American innovators."
A charmingly pared-down life of the "boys" that grounds their dream of flight in decent character and work ethic. Read full book review >
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: May 5, 2015

"Weintraub's research on the prisoners' experiences in the camps is remarkable as he narrates Judy and Frank's heroic tale."
An unusual and moving story of a singular hero among fellow POWs of the Japanese during World War II: a loyal British pointer named Judy. Read full book review >
THE INGENIOUS MR. PYKE by Henry Hemming
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: May 5, 2015

"Fans of Graham Greene and Alan Furst will revel in this well-told true-life story."
An unlikely tale of true espionage by London-based journalist/historian Hemming (Abdulnasser Gharem: Art of Survival, 2012, etc.) in which a nerdy Jewish kid becomes a kind of James Bond.Read full book review >
Kirkus Interview
Sara Paretsky
author of BRUSH BACK
July 28, 2015

No one would accuse V. I. Warshawski of backing down from a fight, but there are a few she’d be happy to avoid. High on that list is tangling with Chicago political bosses. Yet that’s precisely what she ends up doing when she responds to Frank Guzzo’s plea for help in Brush Back, the latest thriller from bestselling author Sara Paretsky. For six stormy weeks back in high school, V.I. thought she was in love with Frank. He broke up with her, she went off to college, he started driving trucks for Bagby Haulage. She forgot about him until the day his mother was convicted of bludgeoning his kid sister, Annie, to death. Stella Guzzo was an angry, uncooperative prisoner and did a full 25 years for her daughter’s murder. Newly released from prison, Stella is looking for exoneration, so Frank asks V.I. for help. “Paretsky, who plots more conscientiously than anyone else in the field, digs deep, then deeper, into past and present until all is revealed,” our reviewer writes. View video >