Kirkus Star
Awarded to Books of Exceptional Merit

Series: Dear America

Released: March 1, 2013

"This strong entry in the Dear America series makes history come alive through one plucky girl and her little brother. (Historical fiction. 8-14)"
After the deaths of their parents, 14-year-old Pringle Rose and her 10-year-old brother, Gideon, head to Chicago, just in time for the great fire. Read full book review >
Released: March 1, 2013

"Exciting, suspenseful, absorbing and informative. (epilogue, historical note, archival photographs, author's note) (Historical fiction. 8-13)"
National Book Award winner Blundell (What I Saw and How I Lied, 2008) explores the devastating 1906 San Francisco earthquake and subsequent fires in this well-crafted, literary page turner. Read full book review >
Released: Jan. 1, 2012

A not-so-shy Angeline is a force for justice in a Wild West town that is out of control.

In 1880s Bodie, Calif., there is no safety. Read full book review >

Released: Sept. 1, 2011

Coretta Scott King Award-winner Pinkney provides an outstanding contribution to the Dear America series with the diary of the (fictional) first African-American student to integrate the segregated schools of Hadley, Va.

Pinkney paints a vivid picture of a bright 12-year-old who is athletic, fun-loving and full of dreams. Read full book review >

Released: Jan. 1, 2011

"I am desolate," Lydia Pierce declares to her diary on her birthday, Oct. 4, 1918, because the motion-picture houses have been closed due to Spanish flu. Read full book review >
Released: Sept. 1, 2010

Piper Davis is 13 in the fall of 1941 when she begins her diary. Read full book review >