Series: Elephant & Piggie


THE THANK YOU BOOK by Mo Willems
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 3, 2016

"Thank you, Gerald and Piggie. We'll miss you. (Early reader. 5-8)"
Piggie is "one lucky pig," and she's determined to make sure she thanks "everyone who is important to" her in this, the final Elephant & Piggie book. Read full book review >
I REALLY LIKE SLOP! by Mo Willems
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 27, 2015

"'Yummy' may be highly subjective, but friendship is transcendent. (Early reader. 4-8)"
"Pigs really, really, really, really, really like slop!"Read full book review >
I WILL TAKE A NAP! by Mo Willems
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 2, 2015

"As naps go, this is about as strenuous—and as funny—as it gets. (Early reader. 3-9)"
Poor Gerald the elephant—all he wants is to take a nap. Read full book review >
WAITING IS NOT EASY! by Mo Willems
CHILDREN'S
Released: Nov. 4, 2014

"A lesson that never grows old, enacted with verve by two favorite friends. (Early reader. 6-8)"
Gerald the elephant learns a truth familiar to every preschooler—heck, every human: "Waiting is not easy!" Read full book review >
MY NEW FRIEND IS SO FUN! by Mo Willems
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 3, 2014

"Everything that readers have come to love about the Elephant & Piggie books is present—masterful pacing, easy-to-follow, color-coded speech bubbles, hilarious body language—except an emotionally satisfying ending. (Early reader. 6-8)"
Can Gerald and Piggie's friendship withstand the friendly overtures of Brian Bat? Read full book review >
I'M A FROG by Mo Willems
by Mo Willems, illustrated by Mo Willems
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 15, 2013

"Children aren't likely to need the instruction, but the validation may be helpful to counter imagination-repressing parents or older sibs. (Early reader. 4-8)"
Piggie teaches her pachyderm pal to pretend. Considering that this is their 20th outing, Elephant seems a little slow on the uptake, but he sees the light eventually. Read full book review >
A BIG GUY TOOK MY BALL! by Mo Willems
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 21, 2013

"Nineteen books and five Geisel medals or honors along, Elephant and Piggie are still delivering funny, emotionally perceptive stories for just-emerging readers. As the big guy says: 'BIG FUN!' (Early reader. 5-8)"
Gerald the elephant and Piggie return with another playground psychodrama, this one with a twist. Read full book review >
LET'S GO FOR A DRIVE! by Mo Willems
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 2, 2012

"Typically elegant and entirely satisfying. Which describes the book as well. (Early reader. 4-8)"
When Gerald the elephant and Piggie decide to go for a drive, they find that all the planning in the world can't replace one crucial ingredient. Read full book review >
WE ARE IN A BOOK! by Mo Willems
Released: Sept. 14, 2010

Stalwart friends Piggie and Gerald the elephant push the metafictive envelope in a big way when they realize that "someone is looking at us." Is it a monster? worries Gerald. "No," replies the squinting Piggie. "It is... / a reader! / A reader is reading us!" How? wonders Gerald. Piggie drapes herself on a word bubble to demonstrate: "We are in a book!" "THAT IS SO COOL!" Joy leads to a little bit of clever practical joking—Piggie figures out how to make the readers say "banana" out loud, and hilarity ensues—which gives way to existential angst: "The book ends?!" exclaims an appalled Gerald. Emergent readers just beginning to grapple one-on-one with the rules of the printed codex will find the friends' antics both funny and provocative: Just who is in control here, anyway? As always, Willems displays his customary control of both body language and pacing even as he challenges his readers to engage with his characters and the physicality of their book . The friends' solution to the book's imminent end? "Hello. Will you please read us again?" You bet. (Early reader. 4-8)Read full book review >
CAN I PLAY TOO? by Mo Willems
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 8, 2010

The latest Elephant and Piggie book displays all the snappy pacing and wry humor readers have come to expect of the Geisel Medal-winning series, with a valuable lesson in friendship and flexibility tucked inside. Gerald and Piggie decide to play catch, but when Snake slithers up asking to play too, they are a bit dubious. "You do not want to play with me?" Snake asks sadly. "No!" exclaims Gerald. "We do want to play with you. / But..." "We are playing catch," Piggie explains. "With our arms," Gerald elaborates. "So?" says Snake. This awkward moment resolves with the three friends trying to play catch, with predictable results ("BONK!"). More balls ("BONK! BONK! BONK! BONK!...") isn't the answer, but then Piggie has an idea (illustrated by a compact fluorescent light bulb) that provides the ideal solution. Page turns and placement of speech bubbles are customarily flawless, yielding multiple guffaws, but this story also provides much-needed guidance to kids who are navigating the etiquette minefield of friendship among peers of differing abilities. Brilliantly subtle and spot-on. (Early reader. 4-8)Read full book review >
I AM GOING! by Mo Willems
Kirkus Star
by Mo Willems, illustrated by Mo Willems
CHILDREN'S
Released: Jan. 26, 2010

The two-time (so far) Geisel Medalist continues to set the bar high for beginning-reader achievement in this latest installment of the Elephant & Piggie series. Cover art depicts Piggie poised to walk away and anxious elephant Gerald's horrified reaction to her imminent departure. Although the title page repeats this cause-and-effect relationship, the book proper opens with the contented pair reveling in each other's company. "This is a good day," Gerald announces, and it is—until a few pages later when Piggie says, "Well, I am going," and her elephant pal pitches a fit of separation-anxiety-induced pleading and temper worthy of a certain pigeon (who, since he shows up in every Willems book, appropriately makes an appearance during this tantrum scene). Piggie holds her ground, eventually explaining that she's only going…to lunch. Relieved Gerald, along with a contingent of ants, joins her for a picnic, replete with colors that satisfyingly deviate from the series's limited palette. To paraphrase Gerald: This is a good book. (Early reader. 4-8)Read full book review >
I WILL SURPRISE MY FRIEND! by Mo Willems
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 3, 2008

Emergent readers (and their grown-ups) will celebrate the publication of the fifth and sixth volumes of the Elephant & Piggie series, stories of friendship and good intentions told entirely through easy-to-read speech bubbles. The newest episodes are fresh, fun and filled with the everyday dramas of friendship. In I Will Surprise My Friend! Gerald the Elephant and Piggie try to sneak up on each other, using a large rock as concealment. Willems's animation background has never been more evident as when Gerald and Piggie wait, look and think. Like many a classic I Love Lucy episode, this climaxes with a hilarious "AAAAAGGHH!!!" Similar misunderstandings plague these friends in the also-stellar I Love My New Toy (ISBN: 978-1-4231-0961-7), in which Piggie receives a wonderful new plaything. The simplest strokes of the pencil against the now-trademark muted palette effortlessly convey the entire spectrum of childhood emotions. These two offerings will ensure that Elephant and Piggie's legions of fans will continue to double over with laughter even as they engage in the hard work of learning to read. (Early reader. 3-9)Read full book review >
I AM INVITED TO A PARTY! by Mo Willems
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2007

Elephant and Piggie return in two more adventures that will deliver guffaws to even the most beginning reader. As in Today I Will Fly and My Friend Is Sad (March 2007), the text appears exclusively in speech balloons, the dialogue perfectly complemented and enhanced by clear cartoon illustrations that show a master of body language and pacing at the top of his game. In I Am Invited to a Party! Piggie, a novice at parties, asks Gerald the Elephant for advice: "I know parties," he says sagely. The two celebrate the invitation and prepare in ever more absurd fashion—it may be a "fancy pool costume party," after all, and "WE MUST BE READY!" The end defies all prediction in a goodhearted, highly satisfying twist that will have readers giggling with delight. In There Is a Bird on Your Head! (ISBN: 978-1-4231-0686-9), Piggie provides narration to an ever-more-frantic Gerald as two birds alight, nest and hatch their brood on his head. Both are perfectly pitched to their audience, who are too often given the dreariest of stuff to cut their reading teeth on. This silliness is sublime. (Early reader. 4-8)Read full book review >
MY FRIEND IS SAD by Mo Willems
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 2007

The master of offbeat whimsy for picture-book readers ventures into the early reader with typically silly and successful results. Willems introduces two friends, Gerald the Elephant and Piggie, who, in the tradition of early-reader partners, love each other despite (or perhaps because of) their gentle foibles. In My Friend Is Sad, Piggie observes a disconsolate Elephant and dresses up as a cowboy, a clown and a robot only to find that all Elephant really wants is her company. The companion title, Today I Will Fly (ISBN: 1-4231-0295-9), highlights Piggie's determination to fly, her enthusiasm for the task undaunted by physiological reality and Elephant's skepticism. Uncluttered pages feature the two main characters against clean white space, highlighting the artist's characteristic command of body language; the text is entirely comprised of dialogue, rendered in softly colored word balloons (pink for Piggie, gray for Elephant). Beginning readers will delight in these genuinely funny stories, staying one step ahead of the increasingly frantic Elephant, who does not recognize his friend in costume, and rooting for Piggie's aeronautic success. The masterful combination of early-reader convention and sly wit make this pair of pals one to celebrate. (Easy reader. 4-8)Read full book review >