Series: Elephant & Piggie


I WILL TAKE A NAP! by Mo Willems
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: June 2, 2015

"As naps go, this is about as strenuous—and as funny—as it gets. (Early reader. 3-9)"
Poor Gerald the elephant—all he wants is to take a nap. Read full book review >
WAITING IS NOT EASY! by Mo Willems
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: Nov. 4, 2014

"A lesson that never grows old, enacted with verve by two favorite friends. (Early reader. 6-8)"
Gerald the elephant learns a truth familiar to every preschooler—heck, every human: "Waiting is not easy!" Read full book review >
MY NEW FRIEND IS SO FUN! by Mo Willems
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: June 3, 2014

"Everything that readers have come to love about the Elephant & Piggie books is present—masterful pacing, easy-to-follow, color-coded speech bubbles, hilarious body language—except an emotionally satisfying ending. (Early reader. 6-8)"
Can Gerald and Piggie's friendship withstand the friendly overtures of Brian Bat? Read full book review >
I'M A FROG by Mo Willems
by Mo Willems, illustrated by Mo Willems
Released: Oct. 15, 2013

"Children aren't likely to need the instruction, but the validation may be helpful to counter imagination-repressing parents or older sibs. (Early reader. 4-8)"
Piggie teaches her pachyderm pal to pretend. Considering that this is their 20th outing, Elephant seems a little slow on the uptake, but he sees the light eventually. Read full book review >
A BIG GUY TOOK MY BALL! by Mo Willems
Released: May 21, 2013

"Nineteen books and five Geisel medals or honors along, Elephant and Piggie are still delivering funny, emotionally perceptive stories for just-emerging readers. As the big guy says: 'BIG FUN!' (Early reader. 5-8)"
Gerald the elephant and Piggie return with another playground psychodrama, this one with a twist. Read full book review >
LET'S GO FOR A DRIVE! by Mo Willems
Released: Oct. 2, 2012

"Typically elegant and entirely satisfying. Which describes the book as well. (Early reader. 4-8)"
When Gerald the elephant and Piggie decide to go for a drive, they find that all the planning in the world can't replace one crucial ingredient. Read full book review >
HAPPY PIG DAY! by Mo Willems
ANIMALS
Released: Oct. 4, 2011

"Several Elephant & Piggie books have received Geisel Awards or Honors, for books for beginning readers; this one will not only encourage kids to give reading a go but will also teach them at least a few words in a new language: ' 'Oinky! Oink! Oink!' … 'means Happy Pig Day in Pig.' ' (Early reader. 4-8)"
The latest entry in this popular series for beginning readers features a new holiday: It's Happy Pig Day, and Gerald the elephant is feeling left out. Read full book review >
WE ARE IN A BOOK! by Mo Willems
Released: Sept. 14, 2010

"You bet. (Early reader. 4-8)"
Stalwart friends Piggie and Gerald the elephant push the metafictive envelope in a big way when they realize that "someone is looking at us." Read full book review >
CAN I PLAY TOO? by Mo Willems
Released: June 8, 2010

"Brilliantly subtle and spot-on. (Early reader. 4-8)"
The latest Elephant and Piggie book displays all the snappy pacing and wry humor readers have come to expect of the Geisel Medal-winning series, with a valuable lesson in friendship and flexibility tucked inside. Read full book review >
I AM GOING! by Mo Willems
Kirkus Star
by Mo Willems, illustrated by Mo Willems
Released: Jan. 26, 2010

"To paraphrase Gerald: This is a good book. (Early reader. 4-8)"
The two-time (so far) Geisel Medalist continues to set the bar high for beginning-reader achievement in this latest installment of the Elephant & Piggie series. Read full book review >
I WILL SURPRISE MY FRIEND! by Mo Willems
Released: June 3, 2008

"These two offerings will ensure that Elephant and Piggie's legions of fans will continue to double over with laughter even as they engage in the hard work of learning to read. (Early reader. 3-9)"
Emergent readers (and their grown-ups) will celebrate the publication of the fifth and sixth volumes of the Elephant & Piggie series, stories of friendship and good intentions told entirely through easy-to-read speech bubbles. Read full book review >
I AM INVITED TO A PARTY! by Mo Willems
Released: Sept. 1, 2007

"This silliness is sublime. (Early reader. 4-8)"
Elephant and Piggie return in two more adventures that will deliver guffaws to even the most beginning reader. Read full book review >
MY FRIEND IS SAD by Mo Willems
Released: April 1, 2007

"The masterful combination of early-reader convention and sly wit make this pair of pals one to celebrate. (Easy reader. 4-8)"
The master of offbeat whimsy for picture-book readers ventures into the early reader with typically silly and successful results. Read full book review >