Kirkus Star
Awarded to Books of Exceptional Merit

Series: Giver Quartet

SON by Lois Lowry
Released: Oct. 2, 2012

"Bravo! (Fiction. 12 & up)"
In this long-awaited finale to the Giver Quartet, a young mother from a dystopian community searches for her son and sacrifices everything to find him living in a more humane society with characters from The Giver (1993), Gathering Blue (2000) and Messenger (2004). Read full book review >
MESSENGER by Lois Lowry
Released: April 26, 2004

Leader came to Village as a young boy on a red sled, the remains of which are in the Museum, a symbol of courage and hope to all of the villagers who came from elsewhere, fleeing poverty and cruelty. Read full book review >

Released: Sept. 1, 2000

Lowry returns to the metaphorical future world of her Newbery-winning The Giver (1993) to explore the notion of foul reality disguised as fair. Read full book review >

THE GIVER by Lois Lowry
Released: April 1, 1993

In a radical departure from her realistic fiction and comic chronicles of Anastasia, Lowry creates a chilling, tightly controlled future society where all controversy, pain, and choice have been expunged, each childhood year has its privileges and responsibilities, and family members are selected for compatibility. Read full book review >