Kirkus Reviews: Digital Edition

Kirkus Reviews magazine is published on the 1st and 15th of each month in both digital and print formats. For a list of books in each issue view the print index. Not a subscriber? Join today.


August 01, 2017: Volume LXXXV, No 15

Featuring 401 Industry-First Reviews of Fiction, Nonfiction and Children's & Teen; also in this issue: Diversity in Children’s Literature: Industry leaders evaluate where we stand and offer solutions for where we need to go

July 15, 2017: Volume LXXXV, No 14

Featuring 473 industry-first reviews of fiction, nonfiction and children's & teen; also in this issue: the protagonist of Andrew Sean Greer’s novel 'Less' was a middle-aged gay man contemplating his failures in life and love and beginning to face his own mortality. But “instead of wallowing with him,” Greer says, “I wanted to make fun of the things that he goes through…you’re the fool. It was very liberating for me, and I had so much fun doing it"; and more

July 01, 2017: Volume LXXXV, No 13

Featuring 422 industry-first reviews of fiction, nonfiction and children's & teen; also in this issue: Zinzi Clemmons' debut novel, 'What We Lose', is both an act of resistance and a testament to capacious grace. “I think it’s an important experience and also kind of a fruitful one for readers to be able to read a book through the eyes of someone who doesn’t belong,” she says; and more

June 15, 2017: Volume LXXXV, No 12

Featuring 419 industry-first reviews of fiction, nonfiction and children's & teen; also in this issue: twenty years after 'The God of Small Things', Arundhati Roy returns with an assured novel, 'The Ministry of Happiness', that is epic in scope; and more

June 01, 2017: Volume LXXXV, No 11

Featuring 311 industry-first reviews of fiction, nonfiction and children's & teen; also in this issue: Sherman Alexie's refusal to bend his story of grief into a tale of redemption makes his memoir 'You Don't Have to Say You Love Me' atypical, dark, and powerful; and more

May 15, 2017: Volume LXXXV, No 10

Featuring 324 industry-first reviews of fiction, nonfiction, and children's & teen; also: The Summer Reading Issue; and more

May 01, 2017: Volume LXXXV, No 9

Featuring 292 industry-first reviews of fiction, nonfiction and children's & teen; also in this issue: Édouard Louis' autobiographical novel, 'The End of Eddy', about growing up gay in working-class France, was a bestseller in Europe and is now being released in America. "Nowhere in literature were there people like my parents or like me," Louis says. "I wanted to take revenge against literature by including these people"; and more

April 15, 2017: Volume LXXXV, No 8

Featuring 315 industry-first reviews of fiction, nonfiction and children's & teen; also in this issue: Dani Shapiro is a noted novelist and memoirist who has "a certain comfort level" in revealing negative aspects about herself. But when it comes to writing about her marriage, the subject of her new memoir, 'Hourglass', "there's a reason why people say you never really know what goes on in somebody else's marriage," she tells us; and more