Kirkus Reviews: Digital Edition

Kirkus Reviews magazine is published on the 1st and 15th of each month in both digital and print formats. For a list of books in each issue view the print index. Not a subscriber? Join today.


January 15, 2019: Volume LXXXVII, No 2

Featuring 351 industry-first reviews of fiction, nonfiction, children's and YA books; also in this issue: Bridgett M. Davis' 'The World According to Fannie Davis: My Mother's Life in the Detroit Numbers' is about an amazing woman. "I was absolutely clear that there's something about black mothers that's just not part of the narrative," Davis says; and more

January 01, 2019: Volume LXXXVII, No 1

Featuring 392 industry-first reviews of fiction, nonfiction, children's and YA books; also in this issue: Lili Anolik is the unofficial champion of Eve Babitz's literary canon and a crucial element of Babitz's resurgence. Her nonfiction debut, 'Hollywood's Eve', doesn't fit the mold of a biography—it's a bona fide love story; and more

December 15, 2018: Volume LXXXVI, No 24

Featuring 311 industry-first reviews of fiction, nonfiction, children's and YA books; also in this issue: the best 100 indie books of the year plus our full December 15 issue; and more

December 01, 2018: Volume LXXXVI, No 23

Featuring 313 industry-first reviews of fiction, nonfiction, children's and YA books; also in this issue: the best 100 nonfiction & best 75 young adult books of the year plus our full December 1 issue; and more

November 15, 2018: Volume LXXXVI, No 22

Featuring 252 industry-first reviews of fiction, nonfiction, children's and YA books; also in this issue: the best 100 fiction & best 150 children's books of the year plus our full November 15 issue; and more

November 01, 2018: Volume LXXXVI, No 21

Featuring 241 industry-first reviews of fiction, nonfiction, children's and YA books; also in this issue: Beyond Our Borders: special coverage of vital international writers; and more

October 15, 2018: Volume LXXXVI, No 20

Featuring 239 industry-first reviews of fiction, nonfiction, children's and YA books; also in this issue: Congratulations to the 2018 Kirkus Prize finalists; and more

October 01, 2018: Volume LXXXVI, No 19

Featuring 275 industry-first reviews of fiction, nonfiction, children's and YA books; also in this issue: Casey Gerald’s resume is stunning: Yale, Harvard MBA, Wall Street, a stint working in politics, a popular TED Talk. And yet his memoir, 'There Will Be No Miracles Here', stands the American Dream narrative on its head. “I wrote this book in a lot of ways to save my life, to try to figure out a way to stay alive,” he tells us; and more