Kirkus Reviews: Digital Edition

Kirkus Reviews magazine is published on the 1st and 15th of each month in both digital and print formats. For a list of books in each issue view the print index. Not a subscriber? Join today.


January 15, 2018: Volume LXXXVI, No 2

Featuring 288 industry-first reviews of fiction, nonfiction, children's, and young adult; also in this issue: novelist Jillian Medoff makes an ambitious leap with 'This Could Hurt', a funny, tender book that's a sharp-eyed story about corporate manners that contains what are surely literature's most emotionally affecting org charts; and more

January 01, 2018: Volume LXXXVI, No 1

Featuring 308 industry-first reviews of fiction, nonfiction, and children's & teen; also in this issue: Neel Mukherjee's novel 'A State of Freedom' is part realism, part ghost story, and wholly original. The novel is a calm, compelling, unshrinking portrait of humanity in transition, both disturbing and dazzling; and more

December 15, 2017: Volume LXXXV, No 24

Featuring 291 industry-first reviews of fiction, nonfiction, and children's & teen; also in this issue: the best 100 indie books of the year plus our full December 15 issue; and more

December 01, 2017: Volume LXXXV, No 23

Featuring 308 industry-first reviews of fiction, nonfiction, and children's & teen; also in this issue: the best 100 nonfiction & best 75 teen books of the year plus our full December 1 issue; and more

November 15, 2017: Volume LXXXV, No 22

Featuring 250 Industry-first reviews of fiction, nonfiction, and Children's & Teen; also in this issue: the best 100 fiction & best 150 children's books of the year plus our full November 15 issue; and more

November 01, 2017: Volume LXXXV, No 21

Featuring 241 industry-first reviews of fiction, nonfiction, and children's & teen; also in this issue: the idea that evolution could suddenly reverse itself may seem like an incredible fantasy, but in Louise Erdrich's dreamlike, suspenseful novel 'Future Home of the Living God', it's a fitting analogue for the environmental degradation we already experience. While writing the novel, Erdrich had "a feeling as if I had gone back to my origin as an excited reader."; and more

October 15, 2017: Volume LXXXV, No 20

Featuring 267 industry-first reviews of fiction, nonfiction, and children's & teen; also in this issue: Congratulations to the 2017 Kirkus Prize finalists; and more

October 01, 2017: Volume LXXXV, No 19

Featuring 282 industry-first reviews of fiction, nonfiction, and children's & teen; also in this issue: With 'Manhattan Beach', Jennifer Egan set out to write an "old-fashioned adventure story"; the novel does feature shipwrecks, murders, and gangsters. For all its propulsive plotting, though, the greatest surprise—to Egan more than anyone—is how deeply personal the book is; and more