Kirkus Reviews: Digital Edition

Kirkus Reviews magazine is published on the 1st and 15th of each month in both digital and print formats. For a list of books in each issue view the print index. Not a subscriber? Join today.


May 15, 2015: Volume LXXXIII, No 10

One of the most anticipated novels of the year—Garth Risk Hallberg's 'City on Fire'—kicks off our insider's guide to the hottest books at BEA and ALA plus our full May 15 issue.

May 01, 2015: Volume LXXXIII, No 9

Featuring 279 industry-first reviews of fiction, nonfiction and children's & teen; also in this issue: bestseller Rebecca Cantrell on not selling readers short; an interview with Karl Ove Knausgaard about his epic series of novels, My Struggle; and more

April 15, 2015: Volume LXXXIII, No 8

Featuring 291 industry-first reviews of fiction, nonfiction and children's & teen; also in this issue: bestseller Barbara Freethy on indie vs. traditional publishing; 'Orange Is the New Black' actor Kate Mulgrew's memoir, 'Born with Teeth', is unlike any other celebrity memoir (and that's a good thing); and more

April 01, 2015: Volume LXXXIII, No 7

Featuring 319 industry-first reviews of fiction, nonfiction and children's & teen; also in this issue: how Carole Roman took the reins of her career; James Hannaham's novel 'Delicious Foods' opens with the image of a man missing his hands and doesn't let up from there; and more

March 15, 2015: Volume LXXXIII, No 6

Featuring 318 industry-first reviews of fiction, nonfiction and children's & teen; also in this issue: T.C. Bartlett, a writer of many talents, perseveres just like his new character; what lies beneath the surface of Kazuo Ishiguro's deceptively simple novel 'The Buried Giant' is a story that implicates all of humankind; and more

March 01, 2015: Volume LXXXIII, No 5

Featuring 301 industry-first reviews of fiction, nonfiction and children's & teen; also in this issue: We talk to Hanya Yanagihara about how she created "A Little Life," the first must-read novel of the year.

February 15, 2015: Volume LXXXIII, No 4

Featuring 353 industry-first reviews of fiction, nonfiction and children's & teen; also in this issue: D.J. Molles makes his point (and many, many readers agree); we talk to Anne Tyler, one of America's most beloved novelists, who has been publishing for over 50 years: "All I'm really trying to do is learn how it would feel to be living a different existence," she says; and more

February 01, 2015: Volume LXXXIII, No 3

Featuring 364 industry-first reviews of fiction, nonfiction and children's & teen; also in this issue: Brian Kiley goes from late night to the printed page; David Duchovny might play cool characters on screen, but his debut novel, 'Holy Cow', reveals that he can also write like a sassy teenage girl (in the voice of a cow, no less); and more