Books by Angela Davis-Gardner

Angela Davis-Gardner is the author of two novels, Felice (Random House, 1982) and Forms of Shelter (Ticknor & Fields, 1991). Her third novel, Plum Wine is forthcoming in the fall of 2005. "The True Daughter" is from Home by Water, a collection of linked s

BUTTERFLY'S CHILD by Angela Davis-Gardner
Released: April 12, 2011

"A haunting and lyrical follow-up to Madama Butterfly."
In a richly imagined literary sequel to Puccini's Madama Butterfly, we follow Benji, the illegitimate offspring of the tragic geisha Cio-Cio-san, to America with his conflicted father, U.S. Navy Lieut. Frank Pinkerton, and resentful new wife Kate. Read full book review >
PLUM WINE by Angela Davis-Gardner
Released: March 1, 2006

"After telling Barbara a sad story, Seiji introduces her to the concept of awaré—'graceful sorrow.' It's an apt description for the feeling that suffuses this elegant, moving novel."
A story of love and secrets in postwar Japan. Read full book review >
FORMS OF SHELTER by Angela Davis-Gardner
Released: Oct. 1, 1991

Adolescent isolation and vulnerability invaded by an alien sexual restlessness, so delightfully and touchingly visited in Davis-Gardner's first novel (Felice, 1982), becomes a barren vista of loss and menace in this striking story of a family's disintegration and a young girl's search for shelter during desertion, exploitation, and, then, violence. Read full book review >