Books by Arthur C. Danto

Arthur C. Danto is the Johnsonian Professor of Philosophy Emeritus at Columbia University, art critic for The Nation, and the author of many books about art and philosophy. He lives in Manhattan with his wife, the artist Barbara Westman.


WHAT ART IS by Arthur C. Danto
ESSAYS & ANTHOLOGIES
Released: March 19, 2013

"Less a primer than a series of postgraduate lectures."
A distinguished art critic, academic and philosopher distills his views into a compact volume that is likely to provoke more debate than it resolves. Read full book review >
NON-FICTION
Released: Feb. 1, 2005

"Among the most sensible, intelligent, logical, and accessible art criticism of the last five years."
A collection of pieces written since "the end of art"—not to be confused with the death of art. Read full book review >
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: July 1, 2000

"A stimulating, provocative collection."
This hefty compilation of Danto's columns on art, originally published from 1993 to 1999 in The Nation offers further proof of his distinctive ability to balance precise discussions of individual works of art with vigorous explorations of the cultural and historical milieu in which they have been created. Read full book review >
Released: Oct. 1, 1995

"Incisive and passionate, Danto's testimony makes an important intervention in debates over Mapplethorpe's importance. (31 duotones)"
One of our leading postmodern critics captures, in decorous prose, photographer Robert Mapplethorpe's putatively outrageous social and aesthetic vision. Read full book review >
Released: May 1, 1994

"He holds up art triumphantly as a ticklish enigma, a moral conundrum in our midst."
In this prodigious display of intellectual bravado, Danto proves that art can be metaphysics. Read full book review >
NON-FICTION
Released: Sept. 1, 1992

"An intellectual update from a profound thinker whose voice enhances the art and culture he contemplates. (Thirteen illustrations—not seen.)"
Sixteen philosophical essays (most previously published in academic journals) that, in the vein of Encounters and Reflections (1990), wrestle with questions of art by the critic who contends that Andy Warhol brought Western art history to an end. Read full book review >