Books by Brian Katcher

DEACON LOCKE WENT TO PROM by Brian Katcher
YOUNG ADULT
Released: May 9, 2017

"A sweet though sometimes obvious lesson on staying true to oneself. (Fiction. 12-16)"
Deacon's decision to take his grandmother to his senior prom results in unexpected fame. Read full book review >
THE IMPROBABLE THEORY OF ANA AND ZAK by Brian Katcher
YOUNG ADULT
Released: May 19, 2015

"Fans of Nick and Norah's Infinite Playlist will find con-tentment here. (Fiction. 13-18)"
Two teens discover that their improbable chemistry is just what it takes for a probable relationship. Read full book review >
ALMOST PERFECT by Brian Katcher
FAMILY AND GROWING UP
Released: Oct. 13, 2009

Katcher flawlessly channels the worried and confused voice of a straight teenage boy in this honest and uncompromising take on transgender love. High-school senior Logan is stunned when outgoing new girl Sage reveals she is biologically a boy after they kiss for the first time. Logan realistically cycles through denial, anger and anxiety, finally reaching acceptance but constantly wondering whether he is brave enough to shrug off the deeply ingrained conventions of his rural upbringing. Sage is just as candidly drawn, struggling to balance her fear of being found out with her need to be seen as a "normal" girl. Domestic drama and personal tragedy ensue, and while the ending is not necessarily a happy one, both characters come full circle and begin to better understand both themselves and each other. The author tackles issues of homophobia, hate crimes and stereotyping with humor and grace in an accessible tone that will resonate with teens who may not have encountered the issue of transgender identity before. An excellent companion piece to Ellen Wittlinger's Parrotfish (2007) and Jean Ferris's Eight Seconds (2000). (Fiction. 14 & up) Read full book review >
PLAYING WITH MATCHES by Brian Katcher
Released: July 8, 2008

A loner goes from hero to zero after dating and dumping the school outcast. When 17-year-old self-professed nerd Leon Sanders is paired for a class project with Melody Hennon, a classmate whose face has been disfigured from a childhood burn accident, he discovers they share a passion for Monty Python, The Twilight Zone and fan fiction. The two quickly fall into a comfortable relationship, despite Leon's reservations about Melody's scars. But when beautiful, popular Amy Green starts giving him come-hither glances, Leon trades in love for looks, only to realize too late he may have lost his soul mate. Katcher realistically plumbs the depths of the tortured teenage male soul ("What if they both had pig faces? Then my choice would be easy") while tempering Leon's internal angst with plenty of laughs ("The following Monday I didn't wake up as a billionaire playboy secret agent, so I was forced to return to school"). In the spirit of Chris Crutcher's Staying Fat for Sarah Byrnes (1993) and David Yoo's Girls for Breakfast (2005), this tender, funny debut is "dude lit" at its best. (Fiction. YA)Read full book review >