Books by Charles Allen

ASHOKA by Charles Allen
HISTORY
Released: Oct. 1, 2012

"Lovers of intense research will enjoy this book. Readers with no sense of Indian history or geography and little archaeological curiosity will get bored."
A prolific chronicler of India, Allen (Kipling Sahib: India and the Making of Rudyard Kipling, 2009, etc.) shows just how addictive the country can be. Read full book review >
KIPLING SAHIB by Charles Allen
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: March 15, 2009

"A deeply sympathetic look at the young author and his milieu."
Historian Allen (God's Terrorists, 2005, etc.) chronicles the British author's early years. Read full book review >
RELIGION
Released: Sept. 1, 2006

"This narrative has a grafted-on feel, but it is still of use to those seeking to understand the origins and growth of Islamic extremism."
Allen joins 9/11 to his long-standing interest in the soldier/scholar adventurers of the British Raj and turns up some interesting nuggets on Islamic fundamentalism. Read full book review >
HISTORY
Released: April 1, 2003

"Well written, well researched: a pleasant excursion in comparative religion and British colonial history."
A first-rate account of the colonial officers and scholars, mostly British, who picked through the ruins and lost libraries of India to recover the founding texts and artifacts of Buddhism. Read full book review >
HISTORY
Released: May 1, 2001

"Though uncritical in his admiration for British arms, Allen provides a rousing and informative yarn that will appeal to fans of Lives of the Bengal Lancers and Gunga Din."
Unsung heroes of the Raj get treated to an extended fanfare. Read full book review >