Books by Chris Knopf

A house designer, cabinet maker, musician, award-winning copywriter and principal of Mintz & Hoke, the Connecticut marketing communications agency. A native of Philadelphia, educated in the U.S. and London, Knopf lives with his wife Mary Farrell and their


CRIES OF THE LOST by Chris Knopf
MYSTERY & CRIME
Released: Nov. 22, 2013

"A high-spirited but ultimately exhausting romp with more exotic locations than the last three James Bond films."
Back from the dead after a hit man executed him and his wife (Dead Anyway, 2012), market researcher Arthur Cathcart continues to probe the mystery of her death. And not just probe, but shake, rattle and roll. Read full book review >
DEAD ANYWAY by Chris Knopf
Released: Sept. 15, 2012

"An absorbing update of the classic film, D.O.A., that finds its author so completely in the zone that not a word is wasted, and the story seems to unfold itself without human assistance."
Nothing in Knopf's reflective, quietly loopy Hamptons mysteries starring Sam Acquillo and Jackie Swaitkowski (Ice Cap, 2012, etc.) will have prepared his fans for this taut, streamlined tale of a man investigating his own murder. Read full book review >
ICE CAP by Chris Knopf
MYSTERY & CRIME
Released: June 5, 2012

"More disciplined than Jackie's wild first two cases, though that's not saying much. A treat for readers who enjoy the journey more than the destination."
Called out in the middle of an epic snowstorm by a client who did three years for killing his paramour's husband, Hamptons attorney Jackie Swaitkowski (Bad Bird, 2010, etc.) finds every indication that he's done it again. Read full book review >
BLACK SWAN by Chris Knopf
MYSTERY & CRIME
Released: May 1, 2011

"Reliable, predictable thrills that don't shame Knopf's growing reputation but won't advance it either."
Despite its title, Sam Acquillo's fifth adventure has nothing to do with the movies (Hard Stop, 2009, etc.)—at least not movies about high-strung, overworked ballerinas. Read full book review >
BAD BIRD by Chris Knopf
MYSTERY & CRIME
Released: Feb. 1, 2011

"Knopf takes his sweet time introducing the complications. By the end, though, he's piled on so many, some of them humdingers, that his cup runneth over."
If you think Hamptons attorney Jackie Swaitkowski's first case (Short Squeeze, 2010) had everything but the kitchen sink, wait till you see her second. Read full book review >
SHORT SQUEEZE by Chris Knopf
MYSTERY & CRIME
Released: Jan. 19, 2010

"All in vain. Manic Jackie may have a law degree and a place in the Hamptons, but she's still worthy kin to her more downscale Trenton sister Stephanie Plum."
Pot-smoking Jackie Swaitkowski, attorney to sleuthing Southampton carpenter Sam Acquillo (Hard Stop, 2009, etc,), gets a wild, wacky case of her own. Read full book review >
HARD STOP by Chris Knopf
MYSTERY & CRIME
Released: May 1, 2009

"An appealing hero, who might be even more appealing if he cut back on the one-liners next time, and a colorful entourage that includes endearing Eddie, the anti-Marley dog, make for a lively and entertaining mix."
A successful but overstressed engineering executive turned contented neophyte carpenter suddenly finds his two worlds about to collide. Read full book review >
HEAD WOUNDS by Chris Knopf
MYSTERY & CRIME
Released: May 1, 2008

"Fans of Spenser and Travis McGee will love the off-speed dialogue and won't mind the sometimes windy ruminations or the suspiciously neat way justice is served."
The third time's the charm in Sam Acquillo's attempt to fly below the radar as a Southampton carpenter: He's suspected of murder. Read full book review >
TWO TIME by Chris Knopf
MYSTERY & CRIME
Released: June 30, 2006

"Sam's more subdued than in his striking debut, but the suspects who compete for your attention take up the slack. Knopf has a real knack for creating interesting people and putting them through their paces."
Southampton engineer-turned-carpenter Sam Acquillo (The Last Refuge, 2005) is still trying to lead a quiet life, but his plans run headlong into a murder to which he's a witness, and almost a collateral casualty. Read full book review >
THE LAST REFUGE by Chris Knopf
MYSTERY & CRIME
Released: May 1, 2005

"In this first of a series, Knopf turns a mean sentence, and his debut manages to make Sam's charged flashbacks more interesting than the main event."
A simmering midlife dropout's attempt to live below the radar in the Hamptons is torpedoed when the old lady next door dies. Read full book review >