Books by Christine Hurley Deriso

THINGS I'D RATHER DO THAN DIE by Christine Hurley Deriso
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Sept. 18, 2018

"Fans of Zora and Nicky by Claudia Mair Burney (David C. Cook, 2008) will enjoy this faith-based love story. (Romance. 14-18)"
Jade and Ethan overcome misperceptions about one another in this lighthearted romance that explores race, class, religion, and identity. Read full book review >
ALL THE WRONG CHORDS by Christine Hurley Deriso
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Dec. 12, 2017

"A topical musical romance that mostly hits the right notes. (Fiction. 14-18)"
After the death of her brother, Scarlett finds solace and romance by joining a band. Read full book review >
TRAGEDY GIRL by Christine Hurley Deriso
YOUNG ADULT
Released: April 8, 2016

"A deftly plotted psychological mystery. (Mystery. 12-18)"
Anne recently lost her parents in a car crash. Now she meets Blake, whose girlfriend recently died. Do their tragedies mean that the two are made for each other? Read full book review >
THIRTY SUNSETS by Christine Hurley Deriso
YOUNG ADULT
Released: July 8, 2014

"It may not be the easiest vacation Forrest will ever go on, but readers will be glad they shared it with her. (Fiction. 12-18)"
A naïve girl hopes for a boyfriend and gets more than she bargained for on her family's monthlong beach vacation. Read full book review >
THEN I MET MY SISTER by Christine Hurley Deriso
FAMILY AND GROWING UP
Released: April 1, 2011

A rebellious 17-year-old resents her long-dead sister in this sensitive and engaging family drama. Summer knows she's smart, but she almost deliberately earns Cs in school to prove that she's not the same as Shannon, her apparently perfect honor-student sister, who was killed in a car accident the year before Summer was born. Additionally, Summer resents her control-freak mother, who constantly seems to compare the two girls and who has built a household shrine to her dead daughter. When her aunt gives her Shannon's diary, however, Summer gains a whole new perspective on herself and on her relatives, learning that Shannon resented their mother just as much as she does and also seriously rebelled against her. Indeed, Shannon confronted a problem Summer didn't think possible in her family. The most pressing question for Summer, however, will be to discover if Shannon committed suicide. Deriso illuminates a complex family that, despite the faults of every member, emerges as strong and loving. As Summer reads Shannon's diary, readers see two similar girls making different choices, especially in friends and boyfriends. The continuing diary entries create an element of suspense, as readers know the fate of the girl who wrote it. Despite their similarity, the characters of the two girls remain distinct. An absorbing story teens will connect with. (Fiction. 12 & up)Read full book review >
TALIA TALK by Christine Hurley Deriso
CHILDREN'S
Released: Nov. 11, 2008

Starting middle school is tough, but when Talia gets stuck in a tug-of-war that tears her usually happy foursome of friends into two warring factions, things only get worse. Initially paired with her best friend Bridget, who has a tendency to be brash and bossy, Talia finds herself questioning her identity and facing difficult decisions. Raising this text above a simple middle-school-friendship drama is Talia's role in her school's "Oddcast," which is a short daily news show aired internally at school and made available as a podcast online. Like her mother on the local morning TV show, Talia reports on middle-school issues with a simple honesty that resonates with her classmates and helps her find her own true voice. With friendship at its core and an eye on the latest teen tech phenomena, this text is spunky and fun. (Fiction. 9-12)Read full book review >
THE RIGHT-UNDER CLUB by Christine Hurley Deriso
CHILDREN'S
Released: July 10, 2007

Summertime finds a strange combination of five middle-schoolers high up in a leafy tree house in their newly formed support group, the "R.U. Club," where the secret is what "R.U." means and what they do in the club. They could not be more unlike one another and yet each deeply understands what it is like to live in a new family because of death or divorce: They feel like leftovers, "even though we are right under <\b>their noses." Each one takes a turn to describe her concern or worry. Anonymously, in written suggestions and then in group brainstorming sessions, they discuss solutions. Then as the girls put their trust in collective wisdom and thoughtfully apply effort and action through careful heartfelt adherence to club rules, camaraderie develops. Mounting interest in the characters and their adjustments to family life builds to a too-sweet conclusion, which could be redressed in a sequel, yet five genuine multifaceted characters together with their families make a large cast of characters. which Deriso handles adeptly. An interesting group that begs for a sequel. (Fiction. 10-12)Read full book review >
DO-OVER by Christine Hurley Deriso
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 13, 2006

Deriso explores the possibility of having dreams coming true in this light comedy, told in the first person. Twelve-year-old Elsa Alden is overjoyed to be moving with her dad to a new town to live with her maternal grandmother, but is less enthusiastic about starting a new school in the middle of seventh grade. Predictably, her first day doesn't go well. Soon after, Elsa's dead mother visits her and gives her a magical pendant. For one month, Elsa can rewind the world for ten seconds by saying, "Do-over. . . . Just long enough to fix an embarrassing moment. For one month only." The pendant offers Elsa many opportunities, from stealing answers to passing on gossip. When Elsa is accused of cheating, she makes plans to give Darcy, the most popular girl in her class, her comeuppance, yet is unable to follow through with Darcy's ultimate humiliation. Though her comments seem older than her years (the seventh-graders are reading To Kill a Mockingbird), middle-schoolers who long to be popular may find this somewhat predictable story enjoyable. (Fiction. 9-12)Read full book review >