Books by Garrison Allen

MOVIE CAT by Garrison Allen
Released: May 1, 1999

"Detecting honors go once again to Empty Creek bookstore owner Penelope Warren, sister of featured Elephant actress Storm Williams, and her feline sleuth Big Mike (Dinosaur Cat, 1998, etc.)."
A double dose of bad luck for director C.D. Masterly: The Ears of the Elephant looks to be his last movie, and he's going to die far from Hollywood, surrounded by unfriendly faces, in Empty Creek, Arizona. Read full book review >
BASEBALL CAT by Garrison Allen
Released: July 1, 1997

"An unsubtle, eager-to-please yarn that will appeal less to admirers of Bull Durham than to those who miss the rather corny, Hugh Hefnerish eroticism of an earlier time."
Bookseller-sleuth Penelope Warren and her Garfield-esque pet Big Mike are back on the scene as Empty Creek, Arizona, fields a minor-league ball club and starts the season off with a losing streak and a murder—namely, of Peter Adcock. Read full book review >
STABLE CAT by Garrison Allen
Released: June 1, 1996

"A fairly good series that needs to get leaner and meaner."
In his Big Mike series of pet-related mysteries (Royal Cat, 1995; the paperback Desert Cat, 1994), Allen is developing the sort of eccentric and benign if occasionally criminal small town that owes a lot to Andy Griffith's Mayberry and Joan Hess's Maggody. Read full book review >
ROYAL CAT by Garrison Allen
Released: June 1, 1995

"A decorously giddy costume romp strictly for the like- minded."
Murder comes, just barely, to the Authentic Elizabethan Spring Faire in Empty Creek, Ariz., when somebody ends Carolyn Lewis's reign as Queen Elizabeth with a bare bodkin and catapults bookseller Penelope Warren (the paperback Desert Cat) into her place. Read full book review >