Books by Hampton Sides

Released: Oct. 2, 2018

"Better books are available, but for general readers, this account is a worthy introduction to a battle that has become a byword for suffering."
A Korean War story of miscalculation, military ambition, and overreach. Read full book review >
NON-FICTION
Released: Aug. 5, 2014

"A grand and grim narrative of thrilling exploration for fans of Into Thin Air, Mountains of the Moon and the like."
Another crackling tale of adventure from journalist/explorer Sides (Hellhound on His Trail: The Stalking of Martin Luther King, Jr. and the International Hunt for His Assassin, 2010, etc.), this one focusing on a frigid disaster nearly 150 years ago. Read full book review >
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: April 27, 2010

"An expertly written study in true crime, vividly recapturing the mood of 1968."
From veteran journalist and historian Sides (Blood and Thunder, 2006, etc.), a riveting account of James Earl Ray's long quest to kill Martin Luther King Jr. Read full book review >
BLOOD AND THUNDER by Hampton Sides
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Oct. 3, 2006

"Popular history in the Alvin Josephy vein. Sides works material well-known to historians, but less so to general readers, into an unchallenging but informative narrative."
Kit Carson versus the Indians—and everyone against everyone else in the Hobbesian world of the newly conquered American West. Read full book review >
NON-FICTION
Released: May 15, 2001

"Far more worthy than the celebrity-driven narratives of recent seasons, this is an exceptionally valuable addition to the popular literature surrounding WWII."
An extraordinary tale of bravery under fire and the will to endure. Read full book review >
NON-FICTION
Released: Oct. 22, 1992

"As such, a joy. (B&w photos—not seen.)"
A vastly enjoyable excursion into American obsessions. Read full book review >