Books by Hugh B. Cave

COME INTO MY PARLOR by Hugh B. Cave
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Feb. 25, 2003

"Nostalgic tales that must have seemed gauzy even in their first bloom."
In this follow-up to Long Live the Dead (2000), prolific pulp survivor Cave, still active at 92, collects 11 stories he wrote between 1936 and 1940 for Detective Fiction Weekly. Read full book review >
LONG LIVE THE DEAD by Hugh B. Cave
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Dec. 1, 2000

"If stories like 'Dead Dog,' 'Shadow,' and 'Long Live the Dead' seem merely routine, even pulpophobes will admire 'The Missing Mr. Lee,' which packs six different narrators' versions of what happened to a vanished liquor salesman into a dozen clever, fast-paced pages."
If Cave, prolific author of over 40 books (with 3 more forthcoming from the still-active 90-year-old) and over 1200 short stories, isn't exactly a forgotten classic, he's a seasoned practitioner whose ten tales (1934-41) collected here, together with a substantial introduction and interview by Deutsch, are bound to appeal to fans of Spicy Detective Stories, Dime Detective, and, yes, Black Mask. Read full book review >