Books by Janet Street

DRAGON NAPS by Lynne Bertrand
BEDTIME BOOK
Released: March 1, 1996

"The book includes a counting lesson, of course, but it succeeds primarily as entertainment for other reluctant nappers. (Picture book. 3-8)"
From the team behind One Day, Two Dragons (1992), a jolly nap time book that begins ``ONE day, TWO dragons' mothers said these THREE words: `Time for naps.' '' They are forced upstairs to bed, while all kinds of wonderful things are going on. Read full book review >
ONE LITTLE CHICKADEE by Marilee Robin Burton
FICTION
Released: Sept. 1, 1994

"A joyous bedtime counting book. (Fiction/Picture book. 3+)"
Things start quietly in this happy rhyming story, with one little chickadee, alone in a tree. Read full book review >
ANIMAL FARE by Jane Yolen
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 1, 1994

"As she did for Yolen's Raining Cats and Dogs (1993), Street provides pen-and-watercolor spreads in bright, airy colors; her raffish visualizations of such useful concoctions as the 'Giraft' ('periscope necks fore and aft') and the 'Hippopotanoose' are a hoot. (Poetry/Picture book. 4-8)"
In the tradition of Lear, Carroll, and Seuss, pure nonsense: 16 deftly fashioned rhymes about newly imagined animals. Read full book review >
RAINING CATS AND DOGS by Jane Yolen
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 1, 1993

"A pleasure. (Poetry/Picture book. 4-10)"
It's hard to know which end's up when it's "raining cats and dogs." Read full book review >
DINOSAUR DRESS UP by Allen L. Sirois
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 22, 1992

"Tall tale or fable, the idea here is slight but developed with amusing logic, while Street's complacently debonair dinosaurs, decked out in garish exaggeration of human attire, are sure to tickle young funny- bones. (Picture book. 4-8)"
Professor Saurus, dinosaur curator at the museum, explains what happened to the ancient giants: they wore clothes, avidly collecting costumes for different activities and competing for the most elegant styles—until they began to quarrel about fashion, tearing each other's garments to shreds and hanging around in their underwear, arguing. Read full book review >
ONE DAY, TWO DRAGONS by Lynne Bertrand
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 1, 1992

"Not as accomplished as Peter Sis's Going Up (1989), but in the same useful vein. (Picture book. 4-8)"
``One day, two dragons caught a cab to Three Bug Street...to get four vaccinations...for measles, mumps, scale rot, and morning breath'' begins this amiable counting-cum-shots-aren't- so-bad book. Read full book review >