Books by Jarrett J. Krosoczka

A NEW CLASS by Jarrett J. Krosoczka
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: July 26, 2016

"Typical middle school experiences for young Padawans, featuring crushes, quizzes, and food fights highlighted by a climactic lightsaber duel in the hallway. (Graphic science fiction. 8-12)"
A midterm transfer to the Jedi Academy campus on Coruscant not only supercharges Victor Starspeeder's dreams of becoming a Jedi Knight, but teaches him how to tell bad friends from good. Read full book review >
COMICS SQUAD #2 by Jennifer L. Holm
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: Jan. 26, 2016

"One rotten apple aside, a second helping of tasty treats. (Graphic anthology. 7-12)"
The Comics Squad moves from Recess! (2014) to an even more popular theme with a fresh set of minicomics created by a (mostly) fresh slate of artists.Read full book review >
IT'S TOUGH TO LOSE YOUR BALLOON by Jarrett J. Krosoczka
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: Sept. 8, 2015

"A feel-good book to turn to when helping a young child cope with the everyday setbacks life brings his or her way. (author's note) (Picture book. 3-5)"
A series of short vignettes shows how kids can make the most out of a bad situation when they look at life with a positive attitude. Read full book review >
TOTALLY TARDY MARTY by Erica S. Perl
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: Sept. 1, 2015

"This one can be permanently late. (Picture book. 4-7) "
A young boy who's always late for school learns to be on time and finds a friend along the way. Read full book review >
LAST PANDA STANDING by Jarrett J. Krosoczka
Released: May 5, 2015

"In the end, readers may wish the book were a little more exciting and a little less genteel. (Mystery. 8-12)"
You don't need a gun in Kalamazoo City. Read full book review >
MUST. PUSH. BUTTONS! by Jason Good
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: Jan. 6, 2015

"Not a must. read. book. (Picture book. 2-4)"
A rambunctious child tries to find outlets for his surfeit of energy. Read full book review >
COMICS SQUAD by Jennifer L. Holm
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: July 8, 2014

"More fun than the playground at recess! (Graphic anthology. 7-12)"
An all-star comics anthology tackles everyone's favorite subject: recess. Read full book review >
THE OSTRICH CONSPIRACY by Jarrett J. Krosoczka
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: May 6, 2014

"Retailers won't need to stock up on sunglasses or platypus dolls, but readers will keep turning pages up to the last chapter, and quite a few of them will be ready, immediately, for the next volume. (Mystery. 8-12)"
This book isn't nearly as odd as it sounds. Read full book review >
PEANUT BUTTER AND JELLYFISH by Jarrett J. Krosoczka
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: April 8, 2014

"There's nothing new under the sea, but these creatures are irrepressible, even Crabby. (Picture book. 3-6)"
A cantankerous crab lives up to his name, bullying everyone in the ocean until he realizes the importance of friendship. Read full book review >
THE FROG WHO CROAKED by Jarrett J. Krosoczka
Released: May 7, 2013

"Juvenile fans of Dragnet or Law & Order: SVU might look forward to Book 2; few others will. (Mystery. 8-12)"
Who's flooding Kalamazoo City with synthetic fish? The Platypus Police Squad is on the case! Read full book review >
CHEW, CHEW, GULP! by Lauren Thompson
FICTION
Released: May 24, 2011

"Not a lot of food for thought, but an enthusiastic, fast-paced feast nonetheless. (Picture book. 2-4)"
As four youngsters manipulate and maneuver the food and drink set before them, swirling and scooping playfully take center stage. Read full book review >
FICTION
Released: Dec. 22, 2009

"Although not particularly substantial, this is another helping of hijinks for Lunch Lady fans. (Graphic novel. 7-10)"
Lunch Lady and Betty serve up another action-filled adventure in the third installment of the Lunch Lady series. Read full book review >
LUNCH LADY AND THE CYBORG SUBSTITUTE by Jarrett J. Krosoczka
FICTION
Released: July 28, 2009

"Publishes simultaneously with Lunch Lady and the League of Librarians (ISBN: 978-0-375-94684-4; paper 978-0-375-84684-7). (Graphic fiction. 7-10)"
Punk Farm creator Krosoczka breaks out of picture books with this agreeably silly graphic novel for young readers. Read full book review >
PUNK FARM ON TOUR by Jarrett J. Krosoczka
ANIMALS
Released: Oct. 9, 2007

"Where to next? (Map endpapers, website to download the song, Picture book. 5-8)"
When Farmer Joe packs up for the National Tractor Society Conference in Reno, Punk Farm gears up for their first road trip, hot on the hooves of their previous successful concert. Read full book review >
MY BUDDY, SLUG by Jarrett J. Krosoczka
FICTION
Released: Sept. 12, 2006

"Not the most constructive of resolutions, but young readers on the outs with friends might be encouraged to bridge the gap from this simply told episode. (Picture book. 6-8)"
A simplistic but possibly useful tale about mending rifts, illustrated primarily in bright oranges and greens, featuring an everylad with a blabbermouth best bud who looks like a glowing orange Jabba the Hut. Read full book review >
GIDDY UP, COWGIRL by Jarrett J. Krosoczka
FAMILY AND GROWING UP
Released: Feb. 1, 2006

"Ride 'em, cowgirls! (Picture book. 3-5)"
PUNK FARM by Jarrett J. Krosoczka
ANIMALS
Released: May 10, 2005

"Rock on! (Picture book. 5-8)"
In concert with other recent picture books depicting farm animals banding together for riotous fun, Farmer Joe's five-some thrives on rock! Read full book review >
MAX FOR PRESIDENT by Jarrett J. Krosoczka
FICTION
Released: July 13, 2004

"Krosoczka presents student government at its gentle finest—respectful, issues oriented—that the national political theater might emulate. (Picture book. 4-8)"
A simple, pleasantly earnest, though young-hearted story of two classmates running for school president. Read full book review >
ANNIE WAS WARNED by Jarrett J. Krosoczka
Released: Aug. 26, 2003

"Young audiences will shiver with pleasure. (Picture book. 6-8)"
Glow-in-the-dark display type on the cover really sets the mood for this Halloween ramble. Read full book review >
BUBBLE BATH PIRATES! by Jarrett J. Krosoczka
ADVENTURE
Released: March 1, 2003

"Bathing rituals are never hurt by a dose of invention, though this could well be a one-time exchange: a good idea that kids will want to throw their own twist upon. (Picture book. 2-4)"
Krosoczka, who's had such fun with Good Night, Monkey Boy! (2001) and Baghead (2002), conducts readers through a piratical bath time in what might be considered a bathing primer for the very young. Read full book review >
BAGHEAD by Jarrett J. Krosoczka
FICTION
Released: Sept. 10, 2002

"A plain brown jacket with die-cut holes gives this playful episode an eye-catching wrapping. (Picture book. 5-7)"
Fans of David Shannon's No, David! (1998) and its sequels will enjoy this lookalike episode. Read full book review >
GOOD NIGHT, MONKEY BOY by Jarrett J. Krosoczka
BEDTIME BOOK
Released: June 12, 2001

"Despite the up-tempo delivery, Krosoczka'a story can be read as a bedtime tale—if not exactly a lullaby—for the voluptuous colors and the quilt-deep qualities of the full-bleed, double-paged spreads work like a hearty meal on the wakefulness of young readers. (Picture book. 2-5)"
You'll know the type, and here he is especially winning: a little boy who knows all the tricks to prolong the act of going to bed. Read full book review >