Books by Kevin Brooks

THE BUNKER DIARY by Kevin Brooks
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: March 1, 2015

"Not for everyone, this heady novel is worthy of study alongside existentialist works of the 20th century. (Fiction. 14 & up)"
Knocked unconscious and kidnapped, 16-year-old Linus wakes alone in a small, windowless, concrete building. Read full book review >
Released: Nov. 1, 2012

"Another violent, mean-streets caper along the lines of Kissing the Rain (2004), but at about one-quarter the page count, catering more to reluctant readers than avid ones. (Mystery. 10-12)"
This unvarnished, all-action, hi-lo lit features a would-be PI who is largely, but not entirely, clueless. Read full book review >
iBOY by Kevin Brooks
FICTION
Released: Nov. 1, 2011

"This classic superhero plot, at once cutting-edge science fiction and moral fable, is guaranteed to keep even fiction-averse, reluctant readers on the edge of their seats. (Science fiction. 14 & up)"
Tom Harvey's world is upended after he's hit by a smartphone thrown from 30 stories up. Read full book review >
DAWN by Kevin Brooks
FAMILY AND GROWING UP
Released: Dec. 1, 2009

"Even when Brooks is not at his best, however, he still produces compelling fiction that will leave teens clamoring for his previous titles. (Mystery. YA)"
Dawn Bundy wants to kill God. Read full book review >
BLACK RABBIT SUMMER by Kevin Brooks
FICTION
Released: July 1, 2008

"Exploring control, power and secrecy, with a hint of Lord of the Flies, Brooks crafts a morbid beach read. (Mystery. YA)"
Childhood relationships twist after gruesome events. Read full book review >
BEING by Kevin Brooks
ADVENTURE
Released: Feb. 1, 2007

"However, it's more likely that once the opening premise fades, teens will give up on this title. (Fiction. YA)"
During a routine exam, 16-year-old Robert Smith feels the scalpel's slice and helplessly views metal and plastic parts inside his stomach wall. Read full book review >
THE ROAD OF THE DEAD by Kevin Brooks
FAMILY AND GROWING UP
Released: March 1, 2006

"Fans of Brooks's Martyn Pig, Kissing the Rain, Candy and Lucas, won't be disappointed by this thrilling, gritty story and it's memorable, heart-breaking characters. (Fiction. YA)"
"When the Dead Man got Rachel I was sitting in the back of a wrecked Mercedes wondering if the rain was going to stop." Read full book review >
CANDY by Kevin Brooks
FAMILY AND GROWING UP
Released: March 1, 2005

"Otherwise, this is a psychological page-turner adeptly capturing love's hypnotic feel. (Fiction. YA)"
A gripping, fast-moving love story set in a dangerous underworld. Read full book review >
KISSING THE RAIN by Kevin Brooks
FICTION
Released: March 1, 2004

"Less of an actual mystery than it first seems, but effectively oppressive. (Fiction. YA)"
Despite too many CAPITALIZED WORDS, this Catcher in the Rye-style narrative told by an English teenager pulled into a murder trial is successfully disquieting. Read full book review >
LUCAS by Kevin Brooks
FICTION
Released: May 1, 2003

"Admirers of Martyn Pig, however, will not find the same clever plot and dark humor. (Fiction. YA)"
In this bleak, ambitious story, tragedy ensues following the arrival on an English island of a wandering stranger named Lucas. Read full book review >
MARTYN PIG by Kevin Brooks
FAMILY AND GROWING UP
Released: May 1, 2001

"Still, a minor complaint in an otherwise provocative and engrossing debut. (Fiction. 11-15)"
This sometimes grossly funny, always absorbing gut-wrenching thriller tells the slippery-slope story of how a few (granted large) ethical missteps can send a character sliding down a moral mineshaft. Read full book review >