Books by Laura L. Sullivan

ELITES OF EDEN by Joey Graceffa
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 3, 2017

"A cunningly charted sequel that improves on its predecessor. (Science fiction. 12-16)"
A young member of the elite class in a dystopian future discovers her destiny in this sequel to Children of Eden (2016). Read full book review >
GIRL ABOUT TOWN by Adam Shankman
YOUNG ADULT
Released: May 3, 2016

"The contrived plot and one-dimensional, outlandish characters broadly mimic, rather than evoke, the rich 1930s setting. (Historical mystery. 12-15)"
An over-the-top rags-to-riches story set in 1930s Hollywood. Read full book review >
LOVE BY THE MORNING STAR by Laura L. Sullivan
YOUNG ADULT
Released: June 3, 2014

"This lighthearted comedy set against a backdrop of gathering doom may be gutsy; it's definitely odd. (Historical fiction. 12-16)"
Two young women are mistaken for each other in this romantic farce set in Europe in the run-up to World War II. Read full book review >
DELUSION by Laura L. Sullivan
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Jan. 8, 2013

"Quirky, intense, moving—an exasperating gem. (Historical fantasy. 12 & up)"
Their public debut canceled by the London Blitz, beautiful stage illusionists Phil and Fee Albion, sisters, are sent by their anxious parents to sit out World War II in the village of Bittersweet. Read full book review >
LADIES IN WAITING by Laura L. Sullivan
Released: May 8, 2012

"A mixture that may well intrigue readers. (Historical romance. 12 & up)"
Three girls named Elizabeth suffer pangs of frustrated love in the court of Charles II in 1662 in this story that places equal emphasis on romance and history. Read full book review >
GUARDIAN OF THE GREEN HILL by Laura L. Sullivan
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 25, 2011

"Richly atmospheric storytelling in the tradition of Narnia and Nesbit. (Fantasy. 9-14) "
Weeks after her pivotal role in the Midsummer War in Under the Green Hill (2010), contemporary American Meg Morton must decide if she's willing to "do the hard things" and become the Guardian of the Green Hill fairy sanctuary. Read full book review >
UNDER THE GREEN HILL by Laura L. Sullivan
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 26, 2010

Like Edward Eager's Half-Magic, this debut contemporary fantasy pays homage to E. Nesbit, but it goes further, mirroring Nesbit's narrative quirks, syntax and even vocabulary. To escape an epidemic, six American kids—the four Morgan siblings and two classmates—are bundled off to the siblings' elderly relatives in rural England. Arriving just in time for Beltane, they discover that the Seelie and Unseelie courts are housed nearby; the countryside is awash in fairies. Disregarding warnings not to leave the premises, the kids are soon up to their necks in dangerous fairy politics. Rowan is recruited as the Fairy Queen's champion, Meg meets a brownie, Finn stirs up trouble and Dickie meets a learned Wyrm. The often-archaic language sometimes jars—the Morgans call their parents "Mother" and "Father" and use expressions like, "that's the ticket"—and the chatty narrator repeatedly pauses the action to reflect on it or spell out a moral. Happily, Sullivan also channels vivid Nesbit-style storytelling and characters, and while the discursive asides diminish suspense, they're a refreshing departure from breakneck pacing and breathless narration. (Fantasy. 9-14)Read full book review >