Books by Lene Kaaberbøl

Lene Kaaberbol is the author of many popular books that have been published in Denmark. She does her own translations, and her English version of The Shamer's Daughter was short-listed for the Marsh Award for Children's Literature in Translation in Britai

A LADY IN SHADOWS by Lene Kaaberbøl
Released: Dec. 5, 2017

"Less detection than horror, less horror than plain old revulsion. But Kaaberbøl deploys strategically limited period detail with a surgical precision as great as her heroine's to set her struggles in a context of anti-female bias past and present."
A second round of turn-of-the-last-century detection for aspiring French pathologist Madeleine Karno (Dr. Death, 2015) that lays on horrors of every sort they could imagine in 1894. Read full book review >
BLOODLING by Lene Kaaberbøl
by Lene Kaaberbøl, illustrated by Rohan Eason, translated by Charlotte Barslund
Released: May 9, 2017

"There's plenty of action, but it's hard to tell where this episode fits into the main storyline (if there is one). (Fantasy. 11-13)"
Wildwitch-in-training Clara Ash faces both familial and life-threatening challenges on her 13th birthday, plus leeches—lots of leeches. Read full book review >
LIFE STEALER by Lene Kaaberbøl
Released: March 7, 2017

"A worthy series outing for fans. (Fantasy. 11-13)"
A series of frightening waking dreams entangles trainee witch Clara Ash in a "soul tangle" with a life-destroying revenant. Read full book review >
Released: Dec. 14, 2015

"Unfortunately, the extended back story this time is neither surprising nor particularly interesting. Fans who'd like to see Nina do something more than absorb a series of brutal attacks may want to wait for the next installment."
Danish nurse Nina Borg's fourth brush with crime begins with a scene in which she's savagely struck down by an oddly apologetic killer, and then it gets worse and worse. Read full book review >
Released: Nov. 5, 2013

"The most conventionally plotted of Nina's three adventures, and the one in which she has the least to do, is still required reading for fans of the burgeoning field of new Nordic suspense."
The third installment of the Nina Borg trilogy (Invisible Murder, 2012, etc.) shuttles back and forth between a nerve-racking present and an unspeakable past. Read full book review >
INVISIBLE MURDER by Lene Kaaberbøl
Released: Oct. 2, 2012

"More grisly but more routine than Kaaberbøl and Friis' striking debut, and just as sordid in its revelations about Denmark today and tomorrow."
Denmark's normal cycle of stealing, smuggling, forced prostitution and unauthorized aid to minority populations is disrupted by the exhumation of a truly malign object. Read full book review >
Released: Nov. 1, 2011

"A debut that's a model of finely tuned suspense. First, inevitably, of the Nina Borg trilogy."
Of all the recent Scandinavian thrillers that have been rushed into translation for fans of Stieg Larsson, here's one whose pair of strong heroines taking on a monstrous conspiracy of men behaving badly is actually reminiscent of the Millennium Trilogy. Read full book review >
Released: Sept. 1, 2006

"Despite pat solutions to some plot threads, a thought-provoking conclusion to a worthwhile series. (Fantasy. 10-14)"
At last, the conclusion to the compelling Shamer Chronicles. Read full book review >
Released: May 1, 2006

"The villains' dire magic keeps the tension simmering, but it's Dina's relationship with her father and Davin's growing self-knowledge that enrich this compelling fantasy. (Fantasy. 11-15)"
The third installment in the Shamer Quartet draws Dina and her family out from temporary safety into indentured servitude and peril. Read full book review >
Released: May 1, 2005

"Very much a midseries book, this entry isn't a great standalone, but an exciting continuation that further develops the uncomplicated utter evil of the villains. (Fantasy. 10-14)"
As the Shamer series continues, great evil nearly destroys all the world's hope. Read full book review >
Released: May 1, 2004

A different kind of magic gives spark to this series opener. Read full book review >