Books by Lenore Look

BRUSH OF THE GODS by Lenore Look
Released: June 25, 2013

"A cheerful introduction not only to Wu Daozi, but to the power of inspiration. (Picture book. 4-9)"
The life of the classical Chinese painter Wu Daozi is imagined as a magical artistic adventure. Read full book review >
ALVIN HO by Lenore Look
Released: April 9, 2013

"Alvin's excitable, first-person narration, replete with his realistic attempts to make sense of what he doesn't understand, will again infect readers with its goofiness. (Fiction. 7-10)"
Alvin Ho's lovable, quirky family is due to increase by one in this fifth installment of the warmly funny series, which again features vibrant, playful black-and-white illustrations by Pham. Read full book review >
ALVIN HO by Lenore Look
FAMILY AND GROWING UP
Released: Sept. 13, 2011

"A fresh entry in what is overall an exceedingly enjoyable series; readers will cheer this latest. (Fiction. 7-10)"
Nervous second-grader Alvin Ho digs deep to find the bravery to attend a funeral in this playful and poignant fourth offering in the series. Read full book review >
RUBY LU, STAR OF THE SHOW by Lenore Look
ANIMALS
Released: Feb. 8, 2011

"Fans of Sara Pennypacker's Clementine and Katy Kelly's Lucy Rose should definitely meet Ruby Lu. (Fiction. 6-10)"
The irrepressible Ruby Lu is back and feeling the effects of the recession. Read full book review >
ALVIN HO by Lenore Look
FICTION
Released: Sept. 28, 2010

Back for a third adventure, anxious Alvin Ho faces such terrifying scenarios as a class visit to the houses of famous deceased authors in his Concord, Mass., hometown and negotiating the particulars of being invited to a girl's birthday party, even as he yearns to be invited to the shindig of another (male) classmate. Read full book review >
ALVIN HO by Lenore Look
FICTION
Released: June 23, 2009

"Another triumph for Alvin Ho. (Fiction. 7-10)"
The second installment in this series about an effervescent but nerve-wracked second grader will please its fans and appeal to new readers as well. Read full book review >
ALVIN HO by Lenore Look
FICTION
Released: July 8, 2008

"A witty glossary and Pham's simple yet expressive line drawings perfectly complement this appealing story about the refreshingly original, endearing Alvin. (Fiction. 7-10)"
Bright, energetic Alvin Ho is about to enter the second grade. Read full book review >
RUBY LU, EMPRESS OF EVERYTHING by Lenore Look
FICTION
Released: April 1, 2006

"Peppered with delightful illustrations of the myriad adventures and mishaps, this follow-up to Ruby Lu, Brave and True (2004) does not disappoint. (Fiction. 7-10)"
The best thing about Flying Duck and her family emigrating from China to live with Ruby Lu's family is that everything is new and exciting, but her mother warns her that even the most exciting things can grow old. Read full book review >
UNCLE PETER’S AMAZING CHINESE WEDDING by Lenore Look
FAMILY AND GROWING UP
Released: Jan. 1, 2006

"Children of any culture will accept with pleasure Look's invitation to witness this distinctive iteration of a universal life event. (Picture book. 6-8)"
In this feel-good companion to Henry's First-Moon Birthday (2001), young Jenny participates in a favorite uncle's wedding—unhappily, until she's given an attitude-altering task to perform in it. Read full book review >
RUBY LU, BRAVE AND TRUE by Lenore Look
FAMILY AND GROWING UP
Released: Feb. 1, 2004

"Hooray for Ruby Lu: she can ably join Hurwitz's Russell and Elisa, McGovern's Julian, and Cleary's Ramona on the shelves of excellent series fiction for new chapter-book readers. (Fiction. 6-10)"
Welcome Ruby Lu! Read full book review >
HENRY’S FIRST-MOON BIRTHDAY by Lenore Look
FAMILY AND GROWING UP
Released: April 1, 2001

"Bright, colorful, busy, and jumpy (just like real life in any happy household with a healthy newborn), this story will be of special interest to Chinese-American families and to parents of adopted Chinese children, but has universal appeal. (glossary) (Picture book. 4-8)"
Baby Henry is celebrating his one-month birthday, with everyone in his Chinese-American family making extensive preparations for the festivities, especially his big sister, Jenny, and their grandmother, Gnin-Gnin. Read full book review >