Books by Liz Miles

FICTION
Released: May 1, 2011

Truth-telling can be dangerous, as anyone knows who's traveled the angst-filled terrain of adolescence. With remarkably few exceptions, the short stories in this collection exemplify the best of the form, drawing readers immediately into the lives of characters who confront the hard truths of alienation, love, trauma and sex. Some are humorous, like Sarah Rees Brennan's "The Young Stalker's Handbook," about two girls' comical encounter with a good-looking boy in a fast-food restaurant, and the editor's own contribution, "Scrambled Eggs," told entirely in Tweets. Others are unsettling, like Sherry Shahan's "Iris and Jim," a vividly weird story of love between two anorexics, or Matthue Roth's lush and startling "Girl Jesus on the Inbound Subway," about a Russian-American boy in Philadelphia who follows a girl from the train. Saundra Mitchell's "The Last Will and Testament of Evan Todd" is the powerful story of a boy reclaiming his life after an icy drowning. A girl auditioning for school play finds success where she least expects it in Heidi R. Kling's "Headgear Girl," while Emma Donoghue's "Team Men" gives the Biblical story of David and Jonathan a modern twist as two soccer players explore their homosexuality. Fans of Ellen Wittlinger and Gary Soto will be pleased to find them included in this edgy anthology for teens who dare to face the sometimes-ugly truths of life. (Short stories. 12 & up)Read full book review >