Books by Malcolm Macdonald

PROMISES TO KEEP by Malcolm Macdonald
Released: Feb. 1, 2013

"The last in the Dowager House trilogy (Strange Music, 2012, etc.) deftly concludes its often heartbreaking story of love, ambition and redemption."
Long after a diverse group of families have created a good life in the wake of the horrors of World War II, the past comes back to haunt one of them. Read full book review >
STRANGE MUSIC by Malcolm Macdonald
Released: June 1, 2012

"Although nothing much seems to happen in the second installment of the Felix Breit saga (The Dower House, 2011), the times are exciting and the characters well-enough drawn to whet the appetite for more."
An exploration of the day-to-day world of a disparate group of people rebuilding their lives in postwar England. Read full book review >
THE DOWER HOUSE by Malcolm Macdonald
Released: Dec. 1, 2011

"This series debut from prolific Macdonald (Rose of Nancemellin, 2001, etc.) explores the dynamics of the relationships between the Europeans and their very different English hosts. It's all heartbreaking and romantic, with intimations of future happiness."
A group of artists and artisans try communal living at a country house in 1947 England. Read full book review >
ROSE OF NANCEMELLIN by Malcolm Macdonald
Released: April 1, 2001

"Genuine fun."
Macdonald's 30th doorstopper proves once again that a born storyteller can rise above genre clichés by sheer dint of good humor and a wealth of passions. Read full book review >
TAMSIN HARTE by Malcolm Macdonald
Released: March 1, 2000

"Bustling expectations for romance readers."
MacDonald's latest heart chart for beleaguered youth (Like a Diamond, 1999, etc.).This time, it's 1910 or so and snippy little Cornish virgin Tamsin Harte has her eye on the next step up. Read full book review >
Released: June 1, 1998

"Appealing calendar art brought to life on a tide of romantic passion and much tartly genial irony."
Ultraprolific Irish author MacDonald's 27th book (Tomorrow's Tide, 1997, etc.) kicks off a sentimental new series set in Cornwall and telling of the Carringtons of Helston (widower John and his early twentysomething children, Will and Leah) from 1914 forward, when they first leave their home in Connecticut and move to England, taking up residence in an untenanted and decomposing "gentleman's house" called the Old Glebe, a 50-acre farm that has no electricity and no water from the mains—but does have an enchanted well. Read full book review >
TOMORROW'S TIDE by Malcolm Macdonald
Released: July 1, 1997

"Unsurprising but effective."
Another of the prolific Macdonald's celebrations (The Trevarton Inheritance, 1996, etc.) of independent-minded women in early 20th-century Britain. Read full book review >
Released: Oct. 1, 1996

"Crissy's narration is not as entertaining as the gabble, gossip, and joshing in some of Macdonald's other Cornish sagas, but there's always an audience for his tales of rags-to-sensible middle-class prosperity."
Yet another of Macdonald's (Kernow and Daughter, 1996, etc.) relentlessly loquacious tributes to feisty turn-of-the-century Englishwomen. Read full book review >
KERNOW AND DAUGHTER by Malcolm Macdonald
Released: Feb. 8, 1996

"Buried in yards of talk, sparks of fun, and family feeling— and a plug for female get-up-and-go."
In his A Woman Possessed (1993)—another Cornish-set tribute to women possessed of drive and impossible dreams—Macdonald celebrated the advent of the automobile at the turn of the century. Read full book review >
FOR I HAVE SINNED by Malcolm Macdonald
Released: July 1, 1995

"As always from Macdonald: a marvelous jabber of people and a lightly tart commentary on the excesses of nationalism and piety."
The story of a waif's progress to adulthood, a zigzag affair with startling changes of venue featuring lively people who talk- -and talk—about troubles familial and national, particularly the miserable fact that love is a many-splintered thing. Read full book review >
TO THE END OF HER DAYS by Malcolm Macdonald
Released: Aug. 18, 1994

"Some may find the sheer volume of chatter enervating, but on the whole, the gossiping village neighbors will prove to be genial company for the author's following."
Macdonald continues his lightly linked Cornwall series (A Woman Possessed, 1993, etc.) with a tale of voluble and feisty young women who give off sparks and set off conflagrations in a tight little village community of antagonistic genders and generations. Read full book review >
A WOMAN POSSESSED by Malcolm Macdonald
Released: June 14, 1993

"Busy, sputtering, noisy fun."
More of Macdonald's wise/unwise, chatty, jaunty women—a pair this time—and their equally entertaining men, again holding forth in the environs of the Cornish village of West Penwith, again with heroines from A Woman Alone, An Innocent Woman, etc. in cameos. Read full book review >
A WOMAN SCORNED by Malcolm Macdonald
Released: Dec. 9, 1992

"Thoroughly enjoyable people and chat—for those fond of slow- paced tales in a low key."
Temporarily leaving his thematically joined novels centered on double-standard-plagued, self-liberated women (An Innocent Woman, 1991, etc.), Macdonald presents another leisurely period novel of romantic and domestic dilemmas—but here, in a Victorian Irish setting, there's a strong lacing of fallout from a violent political crime backgrounding the lives of a clutch of bright young people. Read full book review >
HELL HATH NO FURY by Malcolm Macdonald
Released: March 5, 1992

"With generally agreeable, chatty characters, a slow-moving but—like some of Macdonald's others—restfully gossipy novel."
Unlike Macdonald's recent interlinked, turn-of-the-century portraits of lively, liberation-minded females on the go in Cornwall (A Notorious Woman, 1989; An Innocent Woman, 1991; A Woman Alone, 1991), this Ireland-set tale, in which a revenge-minded lass of talent and beauty revives a centuries-old family feud, creeps on at a crab-slow pace—somewhat reminiscent of the author's His Father's Son, (1990), which, like this amiable novel, sidles into family interplay and class and caste consciousness with lots and lots of talk. ``Families...[are] the most destroying, vengeful, flesh- consuming, spirit-quenching institutions...but as long as you know that, it's worth the fight to preserve them.'' Thus says the aging and dying drunk who is the second son of the titled Lyndon-Fury family, Protestant Irish who had, in 1645, done in their kin the O'Lindons, now struggling and scattered about the country. Read full book review >
A WOMAN ALONE by Malcolm Macdonald
Released: Aug. 28, 1991

"But, still, there's likable people, and they scenery is proper 'ansum."
Third Macdonald celebration of beset but iron-fibered Cornish women of early 19th-century England. Read full book review >
AN INNOCENT WOMAN by Malcolm Macdonald
Released: Jan. 11, 1990

Admirers of Macdonald's portly, likable historical romances may remember the Cornish live-wire Johanna, principal of A Notorious Woman (1989). Read full book review >
A NOTORIOUS WOMAN by Malcolm Macdonald
Released: March 30, 1989

Macdonald's been burning the midnight oil over the last few years, producing a plump new historical romance or saga annually since 1985 (and five before that, including The World from Rough Stones). Read full book review >