Books by Michael Frayn

Michael Frayn is the author of ten novels, including the bestselling Headlong, a New York Times Editor’s Choice selection and a Booker Prize finalist, and Spies, which won Britain’s Whitbread Fiction Award. He has written fourteen plays, among them Noises

SKIOS by Michael Frayn
Released: June 19, 2012

"From this extraordinarily thin plot device of mixed and mistaken identities Frayn spins out a gauzy tale that exhibits more tedium than hilarity."
Frayn the farceur returns here, but the humor is so airy that at times it disappears altogether. Read full book review >
MY FATHER'S FORTUNE by Michael Frayn
Released: March 1, 2011

"A consistently understated, mostly engrossing read."
A British novelist and playwright's memoir about growing up with a near-deaf, roofing-salesman father. Read full book review >
Released: Feb. 6, 2007

"An inviting introduction to modern cosmology and philosophy with no prerequisites other than the willingness to entertain counterfactuals, imponderables and leaps of faith. Nicely done."
A vade mecum for head-scratchers by the multifaceted Frayn (The Copenhagen Papers, 2001, etc.), whose philosophical concerns are notably many and well attested in his body of work. Read full book review >
SPIES by Michael Frayn
Released: April 3, 2002

"A bit reminiscent of L.P. Hartley's modern classic The Go-Between but, still, an essentially original and very affecting tale."
Bitter memories of the home front during WWII resurface in this muted yet moving tenth novel from popular British author Frayn (The Copenhagen Papers, 2001, etc.) and playwright (Noises Off, etc.). Read full book review >
Released: May 2, 2001

"Whatever the reality, it adds up to another good yarn from Frayn."
An entertaining, if inconclusive, game of historical cat-and-mouse. Read full book review >
HEAD-LONG by Michael Frayn
Released: Sept. 2, 1999

A formidably learned, unfortunately ponderous comic romp from the British playwright (whose Noises Off is a contemporary classic) and novelist (Now You Know, 1993, etc.). Read full book review >

NOW YOU KNOW by Michael Frayn
Released: Feb. 1, 1993

What happens when an improbable love affair brings a freedom-of- information lobby under the microscope itself: another melancholy farce by the gifted British playwright (Noises Off, Benefactors) and novelist (The Trick of It, 1990; A Landing on the Sun, 1992). The London office of OPEN, once you step over the two bag-ladies to get inside, is rife with its own petty secrets: why the files on Jacqui's desk have been scattered all over the floor; what kind of photos are in those magazines Kevin's hiding in Kent's satchel; what everybody thinks of Shireen's IQ; and who knows just what about whose private life. Read full book review >

A LANDING ON THE SUN by Michael Frayn
Released: Feb. 1, 1992

Frayn, noted for his waggish plays (Noises Off, Benefactors) as well as his novel, The Trick of It (1990), turns a British civil servant's investigation into an unexplained 15-year-old death into a winsome, whimsical comedy. Middle-aged nonentity Brian Jessel is assigned to look discreetly—and forestall the tabloid journalists' recurring interest- -into the 1974 death of equally minor government minion Stephen Summerchild, who evidently fell from an Admiralty window onto M06D property, becoming an everlasting mystery. Read full book review >