Books by Paul McCusker

Released: May 1, 2009

Adventures in time continue in this third and final installment of the Time Thriller Trilogy. The town of Fawlt Line sits on a time fault, a portal into other times or dimensions that is responsible for odd disappearances and appearances. In previous volumes, Elizabeth Forde time-warped into another time, where she was treated as either crazy or suffering from amnesia, and King Arthur arrived in Fawlt Line unexpectedly. Now, 16-year-old Elizabeth has taken a volunteer job at the local retirement center, where she befriends elderly Frieda Schultz. When Mrs. Schultz dies suddenly and residents of the center begin disappearing, Elizabeth again finds herself in the midst of mysterious happenings and ultimately uncovers a plot by a man from another time to bilk retirement-center residents out of their valuables. The strongest of the three books in the series, this has a more philosophical core, beyond overt religious messages, and can stand alone, though those who have read the previous titles will have a greater understanding of the characters, the town and the various stories of time travel. (Fantasy. 10-14)Read full book review >
OUT OF TIME by Paul McCusker
Released: Feb. 1, 2009

In the second installment of the Time Thriller trilogy, Jeff and Elizabeth are on their way to a high-school end-of-the-year party when a mysterious mist envelops their car and King Arthur comes riding out of it. Their otherwise ordinary American town of Fawlt Line lies on a mysterious time fault, and 200 years of mysterious time-related events have occurred there. However, Arthur has not quite shown up in the right place, as his legend says that he will "come back to help Britain in its greatest time of need." Skipping back and forth between Fawlt Line and England, the narrative brings Arthur and his American friends together with the wise recluse Myrddin and an English priest struggling with his faith. The time-travel contrivance allows McCusker to compare the loss of the glory of Camelot to the soulless 21st century and to speculate on the place of God in this world. An enjoyable time travel romp with overt Christian content. (Christian fantasy. 10-14) Read full book review >
RIPPLE EFFECT by Paul McCusker
Released: Oct. 1, 2008

In the first installment of the Time Thriller trilogy, previously published as Sudden Switch (1996), 15-year-old Elizabeth Forde, angry at her parents, decides to run away—but instead she disappears while taking a bath. She appears in an alternate world, apparently having switched places with her "time twin," Sarah Bishop, and a bizarre series of parallel events unfolds as Elizabeth tries to figure out who she is, where she is and how to return home. Elizabeth disappears too early in the story to have become enough of a fully realized character for readers to care about, however. The heart of the novel is the mysterious time warp, but whatever fascination readers may find in the premise is undermined at the end by Elizabeth's perfunctory, "They're the secret workings of God." Still, readers may overlook clumsy prose and overt Christian messages to find some good fun here. (Christian science fiction. 10-14) Read full book review >