Books by Peter Robinson

IN THE DARK PLACES by Peter Robinson
Released: Aug. 11, 2015

"Too diffuse in both its crimes and its coppers to rank among Robinson's finest work (Children of the Revolution, 2014, etc.). But if malfeasance in Yorkshire is what you crave, you won't hesitate, and you won't go wrong."
A case no one in Eastvale HQ wants to work—a gentleman farmer's stolen tractor—leads to all the homicidal twists and turns beloved of Robinson's many fans. Read full book review >
Released: March 25, 2014

"Robinson has won many awards for his Detective Banks novels (Watching the Dark, 2013, etc.), and with this latest, he demonstrates his mastery of the craft."
Robinson's latest Inspector Banks novel is an English murder mystery sure to please lovers of the genre. Read full book review >
WATCHING THE DARK by Peter Robinson
Released: Jan. 8, 2013

"The tale unfolds realistically but uncompellingly, with Banks the only truly memorable character this time around."
The death of a fellow officer sends DCI Alan Banks (Bad Boy, 2010, etc.) looking for secrets in every corner of Eastvale and eventually as far afield as Estonia. Read full book review >
BAD BOY by Peter Robinson
Released: Aug. 24, 2010

"A lightweight but entertaining outing."
Detective Chief Inspector Alan Banks returns from a reflective U.S. vacation to contend with the abduction of his daughter and the shooting of his female partner. Read full book review >
Released: March 1, 2009

"The much-honored Robinson (Friend of the Devil, 2008, etc.) revisits a concept even Agatha Christie, in one of her last novels, couldn't bring to life. Despite his far more subtle and powerful psychological insight, he doesn't pull it off either."
What looks like a routine murder-suicide turns into a nerve-wracking case for DCI Alan Banks and DI Annie Cabbot. Read full book review >
FRIEND OF THE DEVIL by Peter Robinson
Released: Jan. 2, 2008

"As usual with Robinson, the characters are beautifully drawn, the frequent conflicts sharply etched and the soundtrack of pop tunes ubiquitous. The resolution to both cases seems almost beside the point."
A pair of Mother's Day homicides seem equally sinister—until one of them takes DCI Alan Banks and his squad (Piece of My Heart, 2006, etc.) back to an even more horrifying series of past crimes. Read full book review >
PIECE OF MY HEART by Peter Robinson
Released: June 1, 2006

"What is more satisfying than one solid Robinson mystery? Two solid Robinson mysteries, expertly entwined, offering twice the usual pleasures."
Two murders, 36 years apart, turn out to be linked in the latest Inspector Banks case from Robinson (Strange Affair, 2005, etc.). Read full book review >
THE FIRST CUT by Peter Robinson
Released: Sept. 14, 2004

"For the most part, though: a brutally efficient page-turner that shows a welcome new side to Banks's accomplished creator."
A taut stand-alone suspenser first published in Canada as Caedmon's Song in 1990, the year Robinson's well-regarded Inspector Banks debuted in the US in Gallows View.Read full book review >
STRANGE AFFAIR by Peter Robinson
Released: Feb. 15, 2004

"Below Robinson's high average, then, though he's always worth reading."
A late-night call from a brother who's practically a stranger sends Alan Banks back to another round of soul-searching and skeleton-rattling. Read full book review >
PLAYING WITH FIRE by Peter Robinson
Released: Feb. 1, 2004

"As in Close to Home (2003), Robinson's customary insight into the wavering line between normalcy and unblinking evil is intensified by a sins-of-the-fathers fatalism. P.D. James, meet Ross Macdonald."
Everyone in Eastvale, it seems, has something to hide when DCI Alan Banks tackles a nasty case that combines arson and art fraud. Read full book review >
CLOSE TO HOME by Peter Robinson
Released: Feb. 1, 2003

"Robinson unites P.D. James's strengths—breadth, ambition, and an olympian penetration into character—with some of her equally characteristic weaknesses: a tendency to sprawl and a ritual reluctance to tie all those wonderfully woven threads together."
Underneath all the endless complications, Detective Inspector Alan Banks's behemoth 13th appearance is a case of two dead boys. Read full book review >
AFTERMATH by Peter Robinson
Released: Oct. 9, 2001

"But Robinson's canvas is as admirably broad and his insight into character and motive as keen as ever."
It looks like a routine domestic call for Probationary Police Constable Janet Taylor and her partner Dennis Morrisey. Read full book review >
COLD IS THE GRAVE by Peter Robinson
Released: Oct. 2, 2000

"The result is mystery-mongering at once as sensitive and grandly scaled as P.D. James's."
Fresh from his plunge into the murky waters of history (In a Dry Season, 1999), Robinson proves that present-day England can be equally enigmatic and equally disturbing. Read full book review >
Released: Aug. 18, 2000

"Writing entertainingly and casually, Robinson tells tales out of school that are guaranteed to tick off his fellow Republicans and delight their foes in this election year. But make no mistake, he's hanging on to his party card."
Water-bottle gossip mixes with big-picture philosophizing in this sharp memoir by a Republican Party stalwart—and onetime insider. Read full book review >
IN A DRY SEASON by Peter Robinson
Released: April 1, 1999

"For all his troubles at home, this is Banks's finest hour. (Author tour)"
Estranged from his carping wife, and still in the doghouse with petty Chief Constable Jeremiah Riddle after his freelance investigations in Blood at the Root (1997), Eastvale's Chief Inspector Alan Banks doesn't expect much good news—and his worst fears seem confirmed when Jimmy Riddle packs him off to Harksmere, where a drought and an inquisitive boy have combined to reveal a 50-year-old corpse under the rotting floor of a building no longer submerged in the parched Thornfield Reservoir. Read full book review >
NOT SAFE AFTER DARK by Peter Robinson
Released: Nov. 15, 1998

"If this collection is a foretaste, Caedmon's Song and No Cure for Love would make an appealing entree."
paper 1-885941-29-3 American readers who know Robinson only through his nine Inspector Banks novels (Blood at the Root, 1997, etc.) are in for a treat. Read full book review >
BLOOD AT THE ROOT by Peter Robinson
Released: Dec. 1, 1997

"Though the unending whirl of soap-opera romance in Banks's life can wear thin, his ninth procedural (Innocent Graves, 1996, etc.) is abrim with racial tension, patient detective work, and the hero's appealing decency."
It looks like a common enough kind of crime: Outspoken young racist Jason Fox has been beaten and kicked to death in an alley on the way home from the pub where he insulted a trio of Pakistanis. Read full book review >
INNOCENT GRAVES by Peter Robinson
Released: Aug. 1, 1996

"A standout performance from one of the last and finest masters of the understated British procedural, with plenty of passion to understate."
Yorkshire Chief Inspector Alan Banks's eighth case (Final Account, 1995, etc.) is a particularly sad affair: the strangling of Deborah Harrison, a choirgirl who liked chess and horses, in St. Read full book review >
FINAL ACCOUNT by Peter Robinson
Released: Sept. 1, 1995

"If the tangle of clues is a little predictable, the final confrontation makes up for it all."
Whoever said accountants lead boring lives never met Keith Rothwell, Yorkshire squire, owner or part-owner of 15 businesses, and victim of a no-nonsense shotgun execution in his own barn. Read full book review >
Released: May 14, 1994

"Not the ultimate B-school survival guide, but a genial description of everything about getting an MBA that you wanted to know but were afraid to find out. (Author tour)"
A funny and frenetic account of Robinson's crucial first year in Stanford's MBA program, offering an education in itself as well as a cautionary tale. Read full book review >
WEDNESDAY'S CHILD by Peter Robinson
Released: April 1, 1994

"Expert lesser work from Robinson (Past Reason Hated, 1993, etc.): an unsurprising but thoroughly accomplished British procedural that puts its lowlife denizens through their paces with all the withering mastery of a lion tamer."
There's precious little time for Yorkshire Inspector Alan Banks's worries about his distant wife or teenage daughter; he's hot on the trail of the couple, plausibly masquerading as social workers, who took 7-year-old Gemma Scupham away from her slatternly mother. Read full book review >
PAST REASON HATED by Peter Robinson
Released: Aug. 2, 1993

"The final revelation, unfortunately, isn't up to what comes before: a steady, cleareyed revelation of Caroline's personality, combined with piercing insight into an unusually generous circle of suspects."
Brand-new Detective Constant Susan Gay rousts Yorkshire Chief Inspector Alan Banks (The Hanging Valley, etc.) from a wedding party for departing Sgt. Read full book review >
THE HANGING VALLEY by Peter Robinson
Released: Dec. 7, 1992

"Highly recommended, especially for fans of Ruth Rendell and Reginald Hill, who'll appreciate the counterpoint of bucolic Yorkshire placidity and turbulent currents beneath."
A nameless corpse found in a valley outside Swainshead leads DCI Alan Banks (A Necessary End, etc.) far afield in time and space—to Leeds and Toronto, and finally to Oxford to reopen the investigation of two unsolved murders going back over five years. Read full book review >
A NECESSARY END by Peter Robinson
Released: March 1, 1992

"Fans of British procedurals should get to know this appealing series."
When the crowd recedes from an anti-nuke rally in quiet Eastvale, crowd-controlling P.C. Edwin Gill lies dead. Read full book review >
A DEDICATED MAN by Peter Robinson
Released: Aug. 1, 1991

"A tidy, articulate, well-observed sample of the current retro- Thirties British school—there's even a superfluous map of Swainsdale- -that carries you along on a rising tide of suppressed passion to the uninspired denouement."
Who killed workaholic industrial archeologist/local historian Harry Steadman of Swainsdale and carted his body off to be buried near a crumbling wall? Read full book review >

Yorkshire Inspector Alan Banks juggles three cases involving a peeping Tom, a series of robberies, and the murder of an old woman—all in the first of a projected series by Canadian author Robinson. Read full book review >