Books by P.T. Deutermann

Peter T. Deutermann was born in 1941 in Boston, Massachusetts, the son of Lieutenant Commander (later Vice Admiral) and Mrs. H.T. Deutermann. The family moved in 1944 to La Jolla, California, where they lived until the end of the Second World War in the P

Released: July 30, 2013

"A first-rate yarn of war and the sea that will keep the reader on edge right to the end."
A World War II naval thriller in the tradition of Edward L. Beach's Run Silent, Run Deep, pitting an American submarine against daunting odds. Read full book review >
THE LAST MAN by P.T. Deutermann
Released: May 22, 2012

"Damn good."
Deutermann's latest (Nightwalkers, 2009, etc.) is a strong thriller that mixes archaeology, history and geopolitics. Read full book review >
NIGHTWALKERS by P.T. Deutermann
Released: June 1, 2009

"A rousing, spirited yarn."
Ex-cop Cameron Richter (Spider Mountain, 2007, etc.) plays cat-and-mouse with two murderous ghosts. Read full book review >
SPIDER MOUNTAIN by P.T. Deutermann
Released: Jan. 1, 2007

"Most Deutermann novels (The Cat Dancers, 2005, etc.) are character-driven. Here, slam-bang action outweighs nuance. The result is best for short attention spans."
Ex-cop Cam Richter returns to the North Carolina backwoods for a blood feud with backwoods royalty. Read full book review >
THE CAT DANCERS by P.T. Deutermann
Released: Dec. 1, 2005

"Somewhat over-plotted, but the besetting conflict is substantive, and the characters are credible and sympathetic."
In Deutermann's gripping tenth (Firefly, 2003, etc.), an ugly crime sparks outrage and a look at what is and isn't justice. Read full book review >
FIREFLY by P.T. Deutermann
Released: Dec. 1, 2003

"Deutermann (Darkside, 2002, etc.) always makes his backgrounds impeccably authentic, but it's those three-dimensional people in peril who drive his tales."
A crafty veteran returns with a deft thriller about a crafty veteran returning to thwart a fiendish terrorist plot. Read full book review >
DARKSIDE by P.T. Deutermann
Released: Dec. 1, 2002

"A dead-on sense of place and appealing characters in tight corners. Once again, and with satisfying brio, the retired Navy captain (Hunting Season, 2001, etc.) writes what he knows."
An affectionate if far from idolatrous look at "Canoe U" (midshipmanspeak for the US Naval Academy) as old salt Deutermann floats another seaworthy thriller. Read full book review >
HUNTING SEASON by P.T. Deutermann
Released: March 19, 2001

"They're blind if they pass on this one."
This seventh thriller from Deutermann, a retired Navy captain and arms-control specialist, begins like a steel bear trap with, indeed, two young men stepping into immovable bear traps by a stream, then nearly getting struck by lightning that batters a nearby tree, and who then face a thunderstorm and rising flash flood as they writhe in place while a five-foot wall of mud sweeps toward them. Read full book review >
TRAINMAN by P.T. Deutermann
Released: Sept. 1, 1999

"Quality entertainment: the details convince, the people are real, the plot twists legitimate."
Another solid performance from Deutermann (Zero Option, 1998, etc.), this time about a train-hating, vengeance-hungry madman and the FBI agents seeking to derail him. Read full book review >
ZERO OPTION by P.T. Deutermann
Released: Sept. 28, 1998

"Solid, authentic detail that bolts each event to the next and creates an intensely plausible entertainment—with a leavening of telepathy for added pleasure."
Deutermann (Sweepers, 1997, etc.), a retired Navy captain who served the Joint Chiefs of Staff as an arms control specialist, returns in top form with this gripping tale of men caught up in a nasty business: selling germs. Read full book review >
SWEEPERS by P.T. Deutermann
Released: Aug. 14, 1997

"A quality on-the-run yarn that, if less plausible than the author's previous efforts, features appealing lower-echelon military personnel for whom honor, obligation, and country are not just words but credos."
Deutermann (Official Privilege, 1995, etc.) returns to the scene of US Navy crimes with a twisty thriller detailing the lengths to which the seagoing service will go to protect its own and deep-six potentially embarrassing scandals. Read full book review >
Released: June 23, 1995

"First-class entertainment with full-tilt action and three- dimensional characters credibly concerned about abuse of power, exposure, retribution, and other of a workaday world's manifold cares."
Another arresting take on the US Navy from Deutermann (The Edge of Honor, 1994, etc.)—this time in a military police procedural that features miscegenation, high-level infighting, and a genuinely horrifying hatchet man. Read full book review >
THE EDGE OF HONOR by P.T. Deutermann
Released: May 1, 1994

"Social change is as threatening as Communism in this detailed and, finally, compelling adventure."
Deutermann (Scorpion in the Sea, not reviewed) stows the Age of Aquarius aboard a naval frigate in The Edge of Honor. Read full book review >