Books by Reggie Nadelson

Reggie Nadelson is a New Yorker who also makes her home in London. She is a journalist and documentary film-maker. She is the author of the critically acclaimed series featuring Artie Cohen, Moscow-born New Yorker and the first great post-Cold War cop.


Released: April 4, 2017

"A glowing homage best suited to patrons of the esteemed New York restaurant it portrays."
In this clubby portrait, a novelist and journalist seeks to understand what makes one of her favorite restaurants a New York institution. Read full book review >
LONDONGRAD by Reggie Nadelson
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: July 1, 2009

"Moving Tolya and his family front and center galvanizes Nadelson's often torpid prose. This is the tale she was born to tell, and she spins it with power and grace. "
NYPD's Artie Cohen (Fresh Kills, 2007, etc.) learns that sometimes you just have to go home again. Read full book review >
FRESH KILLS by Reggie Nadelson
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Oct. 1, 2007

"Self-flagellation is still job one, with detection taking second place in Nadelson's joyless sixth."
NYPD's Artie Cohen (Red Hook, 2006, etc.) shares his angst with yet another borough as he looks into the disappearance of a Staten Island trash mogul. Read full book review >
RED HOOK by Reggie Nadelson
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Oct. 3, 2006

"Big Apple navel-gazing at its glummest."
Marriage brings little joy to Artie Cohen, NYPD. He packs his new bride off to New Jersey while he searches the Brooklyn waterfront for an old friend's killer. Read full book review >
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: June 17, 2006

"Interesting, if not exactly compelling. The subtitle could be 'You Had to Be There.'"
An encore from the biggest Cold War celebrity you've never heard of. Read full book review >
DISTURBED EARTH by Reggie Nadelson
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: June 1, 2005

"Worth staying with for its sense of Brooklyn neighborhoods and its shocking conclusion as long as you don't mind the pervasive moroseness. Even the sex is glum."
Eighteen months after the Twin Towers fall, Russian-born Artie Cohen, back in the NYPD fold again (Bloody London, 1999, etc.), finds a new hell in Brooklyn. Read full book review >
BLOODY LONDON by Reggie Nadelson
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Dec. 1, 1999

Location, location, location. Who wouldn't think of ex-cop Artie Cohen (Hot Poppies, 1999, etc.) as a downtown kind of guy on hearing him wax rhapsodic over his loft—with views of Soho, Tribeca, and Nolita—as he sits on its rooftop nibbling smoked mozzarella with Lily Haines, his smart, hip, long-legged, red-haired ladylove, watching her adopted Chinese foundling splash adorably in her baby pool? But a call from Sonny Lippert, a pal from Artie's days on the force, drags him ever upscale, first to tony Sutton Place, where self-exiled Brit Tommy Pascoe's near-beheaded corpse is found floating in the exclusive pool of his exclusive co-op, then to a Brighton Beach nightspot, where rich Eurothugs flaunt their Versaced Natashas, and, finally, to bloody London—where, before her suicide, Tommy's elegant widow Frankie assured him it would all end—racketing around the overdeveloped Thames riverfront with a staggering trail of corpses in his wake. Given the sexual discrimination of a coon hound and a gun fetish that would make Charlton Heston proud, Artie may be somebody's idea of a hard-boiled hero, but his prose is strictly Velveeta. Would Philip Marlowe describe his case as "the geoplastic phase of those volcanoes . . . the lava that keeps coming at you, getting bigger, moving faster"? Read full book review >
HOT POPPIES by Reggie Nadelson
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Feb. 9, 1999

Though Artie Cohen, that handsome devil, is no longer a cop (see the series debut, Red Hot Blues, 1998), sleuthing remains meat and drink to him. His friends know that, and it's at least part of the reason they think of him first whenever they're in trouble. A case in point is certainly Hillel Abramsky: Hillel's current trouble is stretched out on the floor of his office—in the form of a very dead Chinese girl. And no, Artie, he can't dial 911 because, well, he just can't. Subsequently, Artie discovers that Hillel's no-account brother Sherman, up to his usual no-goodnik tricks, is the inhibiting factor. But by that time Artie's deep into an investigation that takes him all over Chinatown and eventually to Hong Kong—on the trail of a world-class villain called the Debt Collector. It's an investigation that involves exotic drugs (the "Hot Poppies" of the title), pornography, a brutal baby-racket, and a miscellany of nefarious activities. It also involves Artie (to whom womanizing is the stuff of ritual) with a diversity of stunning ladies, all eager to bed him. Among the males he meets, on the other hand, the inclination is to bash him, a thing that happens with some regularity. In Hong Kong, Artie bumps into old friends, confronts new enemies, and at last catches up with the Debt Collector, whose identity is a shocker—to him at least. A mishmash of a plot, redeemed every 30 pages or so by the introduction of some colorful character or another. But color Artie himself a pale imitation, and with him at the series center, the center does not hold. Read full book review >
RED HOT BLUES by Reggie Nadelson
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: March 16, 1998

``I was never going back to Moscow,'' vows allegedly cheerful New York cop Artie Cohen. It's been something of a mantra for him ever since he emigrated 25 years ago: No more Mother Russia, no more family friends, nothing to do with more recent ÇmigrÇs. But when ex-KGB Gen. Gennadi Ustinov, a colleague of Artie's father, is assassinated on The Teddy Flowers Show the day after he calls Artie—and the day before they agree to meet- -Artie feels himself getting pulled back: first to scrutinize Ustinov's fellow-guests on the show (wheeler-dealer Anatoly Sverdloff, stripper Olga Gross, capitalist success story Tomas Saroyan, fascist Leonid Zalenko, Muscovite British writer Gavin Crowe), then to check out the Russian community in Brighton Beach (think gangsters, borscht, and street crime), and suddenly— whoosh!—right past the assassin (who, after all, was caught on videotape) to a plot involving some villainous stuff called red mercury (``fear in a bottle'') that has arms dealers around the globe standing at attention. Inevitably, the trail will lead to a secret laboratory and an uninhibited new lover in (where else?) Moscow. A louring debut for fans of Martin Cruz Smith and Philip Kerr—though Nadelson spins a much shaggier tale than either of his models, with new complications coming down the street every ten minutes. Read full book review >