Books by Robert J. Harris

THE ROGUES by Jane Yolen
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2007

"A good finish to the quartet, with echoes of Robert Louis Stevenson's Kidnapped to savor. (Fiction. 11-13)"
Yolen and Harris conclude their planned quartet of Scottish novels with this tale of the 18th-century Highland Clearances. Read full book review >
PRINCE ACROSS THE WATER by Jane Yolen
FICTION
Released: Oct. 1, 2004

"While the history and lore are compelling, Duncan and his family never quite become living folk to readers, but serve mostly as mechanisms to deliver the story. (Historical fiction. 10+)"
The third in a projected quartet of historical novels about Scottish history takes as its tale that of Bonnie Prince Charlie and the Battle of Culloden in the mid-18th century. Read full book review >
ATALANTA AND THE ARCADIAN BEAST by Jane Yolen
ADVENTURE
Released: March 1, 2003

"An afterword discusses which elements come from Greek literature and which the authors created for this entertaining adventure with its strong heroine. (Fiction. 9-13)"
In their third entry in the "Young Heroes" series, Yolen and Harris (Hippolyta and the Curse of the Amazons, 2002, etc.) craft another fast-paced historical novel set in ancient Greece. Read full book review >
GIRL IN A CAGE by Jane Yolen
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2002

"Fans of Karen Cushman's Catherine, Called Birdy (1994) and Matilda Bone (2000) will welcome this new tale of a strong-minded young woman coming of age and holding her own in a hostile medieval world. (Fiction. 11-13)"
Yolen and Harris (Queen's Own Fool, 2000) once again dish up an intense drama drawn from Scottish history. Read full book review >
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 1, 2002

Zena fans take heed: Yolen and Harris draw a minor figure from old Greek tales front and center for an edifying, as well as action-filled, encounter with quarreling gods, monsters, rival Amazons, and—ugh—men. Read full book review >
ODYSSEUS IN THE SERPENT MAZE by Jane Yolen
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 31, 2001

"Young Hercules' novelization, while giving readers a taste of what awaits them in The Odyssey. (Fiction. 10-13)"
Yolen and Harris (Queen's Own Fool, p. 726) open a promising series dubbed "Young Heroes" with this tale of the teenaged Odysseus encountering storms, pirates, creatures both natural and supernatural—and a wise, practical young woman to take some of the air out of his inflated ego. Read full book review >
QUEEN'S OWN FOOL by Jane Yolen
FAIRY TALES, FOLKTALES AND MYTHS
Released: May 1, 2000

"Based deeply in fact and full of detail both luscious and sordid, the story's length will not discourage any reader who picks it up and begins to be enthralled. (Historical fiction. YA)"
With a handful of historical facts and a great deal of research, the prolific and marvelous Yolen has teamed with a Scottish maker of a fantasy board game to spin a historical tale of great immediacy and impact. Read full book review >