Books by Robert Michael Pyle

Robert Michael Pyle is the author of twelve books, including Where Bigfoot Walks, Wintergreen (winner of the John Burroughs Medal), and The Thunder Tree, and the editor of Nabokov's Butterflies. He has a Ph.D. in ecology from Yale and lives in western Was

MAGDALENA MOUNTAIN by Robert Michael Pyle
Released: Aug. 21, 2018

"Worthy company for work by other naturalist/novelists: Nabokov, Matthiessen, Kingsolver."
An elegant, eccentric novel of love, loneliness, and lepidoptera. Read full book review >
Released: Sept. 27, 2010

"The narrative is not just a sweet, unhurried travelogue; it can easily be used as a guidebook, as Pyle is scrupulous in detailing where and when he found each of the butterflies."
Ecologist Pyle (Sky Time in Gray's River: Living for Keeps in a Forgotten Place, 2007, etc.) goes in search of as many butterfly species as he can find north of the Mexican border during 2008. Read full book review >
Released: July 27, 1995

"Best of all, he loves a good mystery and is smart enough, open and radical enough, to never say never. (Author tour)"
Fast claiming his place as one of the country's finest natural history writers, Pyle (Thunder Tree, 1993) takes to the hills in search of Bigfoot in this absorbing, classily written field report. Read full book review >
Released: May 1, 1993

"Never preachy, never cloying: a powerful and memorable example of place-writing."
Natural history and memories fashion this ode to Colorado's High Line Canal by Pyle (Wintergreen, 1986), whose gentle style belies a lyric intensity rarely found in place-portraits. Read full book review >